When Mamma’s sick, what do you eat?

That was the question last week, and these were some of the answers:

1. Frozen pizza (yuck)
2. Take-out chinese (not always bad, but this time – Yuck, yuck).
3. [blank stare]
4. My sister’s bacon ricotta pasta dish, see below. Too bad I thought it was a good idea to make the ricotta too, because moments later I sneezed a rib out of place.
5. Cereal
6. [another blank stare - Matt was gone and the kid is little help]
7. Leftovers (OF WHAT?)
8. Eggs in a hole – we have a winner!!

This is one of the time honored traditions of tired mothers, and who doesn’t love eating breakfast for dinner? With bacon already in the fridge from the ricotta pasta, and eggs multiplying (and no, we don’t have chickens, I think they are just possessed), and a fresh loaf of bread from a neighbor (store-bought, so no, nobody loves me that much), it was all I could do to keep myself from making these. I caved, and even used white American cheese which my husband loves.

Enjoy

Enjoy


Eggs in a Hole:

Eggs and slices of bread in equal numbers
As many slices of cheese as you have eggs and bread
Butter or bacon drippings (doesn’t that sound better than bacon fat?) from your bacon
Salt and pepper
A cookie cutter (I like hearts. I’m a sap, I admit it. I was also married on Valentine’s day.)

The players

The players

Cut your "Hole" out

Cut your hole out

In all the breads

In all the breads

Hot pan, then butter, then bread, then crack the egg into it

Hot pan, then butter, then bread, then crack the egg into each hole

Let the egg cook until it's mostly done to your liking

Let the egg cook until it's mostly done to your liking

Flip 'em

Flip 'em

Top with cheese, and cover

Top with cheese, and cover


See above – ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “When Mamma’s sick, what do you eat?

Leave a Reply

