Look no further – Chocolate chocolate chip muffins

Sweet hearts

Sweet hearts

Jen here.  I’d like to say that I was making these muffins today because of Valentine’s Day.  Truth is, I was halfway through my second batch of muffins for several different events happening over the next few days before I realized that these would be an amazing Valentine’s Day treat.  They’re easy to make, taste and smell wonderful and can create lasting memories (I asked my husband recently, “Do you remember those chocolate chocolate chip muffins I last made a couple of years ago?”  It’s hard to describe his ecstatic response.)  I think after all is said and done and the Daisy Scouts and book club get their share I may have to make a batch just for my family this weekend.  (And since they’re called muffins, they must be good for you, right?)

I got this recipe from the Frozen Assets Group over at Yahoo, posted in 2006 (message #45252 posted on March 18, 2006 from Brandel in Jerusalem) and, in spite of  all of the delicious wonderfulness, had forgotten about it for a couple of years.

I always make mini-muffins in my house because my kids love their bite-sized-ness.  I fill my muffin tins using a cookie scoop – mine is a 40mm scoop (I just learned that today by measuring) and 1 scoop fills a mini muffin tin; 2 scoops fills a regular muffin tin; 1/2 scoop fills my little heart tin.  My cookie scoop is also great for cookies and filling tiny ice cream cones (we found them at Safeway).

I am now repenting of my neglect, and sharing with you all.  Enjoy!!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

2 c. flour
1 c. cocoa
2 c. sugar
1/2 T. baking soda (that’s 1-1/2 teaspoons)
12 oz. chocolate chips (mini chips are great for mini muffins; try other flavor chips)
5 T. butter, melted
3 eggs
1 1/2 c. yogurt (plain, flavored, Greek – that’s what I used today, your choice)

Mix dry ingredients; mix chips in. Add butter, eggs, and yogurt. Mix well. Pour into greased muffin tins (use your flour/oil baking spray – try to get an all natural one) and bake @350F until muffins test done with a toothpick (insert toothpick and hope it comes out dry; don’t confuse melted chocolate chips for wet batter; about 15 minutes for regular, 12 minutes for mini, and 10 minutes for my tiny heart shaped muffins) . Makes 24 regular muffins or 48 mini muffins.  If I don’t overfill the mini-muffin tins (which makes mushroom shaped muffins), I can get closer to 5 dozen mini muffins; more with our tiny heart muffin tin.

These freeze beautifully (flash freeze on a cookie sheet for about an hour, then put into a freezer bag, or they will squish). They are almost edible straight from the freezer; just give them a couple minutes in a warm hand.

As a side note, I also made banana muffins today, with a streusel topping (that kept falling off – remember to press that into the batter before cooking).  I used the remaining streusel topping on the first batch of chocolate chocolate chip muffins, so that explains the few odd looking muffins.

Also, the house smells great, so I wonder about that humming bird hanging around the back window here . . . enticed by the sweet chocolate smells?

Leave a Reply

