Corn Chowder – 3 ways (and The Prepared Pantry)

Jen here!  I don’t know about most of you, but much of our “summer” so far has been overcast and cooler.  Definitely a grey June.  I’ve heard about Utah’s rain, so I’m guessing it’s been similar other places too.   Soup weather, in June!

Anyways, last night, we enjoyed a lovely, easy corn chowder that went together very quickly.  It’s simple and food-storage friendly, but includes amounts for fresh from the cob corn, as well.  I’m sure there’s lots of room for dressing it up too, if you enjoy adding flavors (hot sauce or additional veggies or different herbs).

Corn chowder with bacon (and Saltines and dill)

Corn chowder with bacon (and Saltines and dill)

The recipe is from The Prepared Pantry, and I’ve discovered lots of wonderful eBooks available here.  You can also sign up to receive a chapter a week for a 250-page “How to Bake: Your Complete Reference Book.”  We’re going to be working our way through some of these eBooks this summer.  I have a goal to learn to make a decent pie crust . . . once I get myself a pastry mat – I need a place to roll out those crusts.  We’ll be making dessert pies, quiches and pocket sandwiches over the summer.  My kids will also learn the joy of pie crust cookies (scraps brushed with butter and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and then baked).

Well . . . back to the soup.  I made the soup as written, using milk, canned corn and bacon.  I found that it needed salt (unless you crush half a dozen Saltines into your soup the way my family does), and it was tasty with a sprinkling of dried dill.  It probably would have been excellent with fresh dill, but we didn’t go out and get any from the garden.  I’m really going to have to move the herbs right outside the back door . . . I’m sure I’d use them more if they were right there.  Also, the potatoes cook the first 10 minutes in a small amount of thickened liquid, so they needed a lot of stirring to keep from sticking to the bottom of the pan.  Once the soup’s all put together, I think there would be room for more potatoes or other veggies if you’d like a chunkier soup.

Three-Way Corn Chowder

This corn chowder can be made three ways: with just corn, with ham, or with bacon.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 15-ounce can chicken broth
2 cups cubed potatoes
2 cups half and half or 2 cups milk
2 15-ounce cans corn, undrained or two cups cooked corn cut from the cob
1 1/2 cups diced ham (optional)
6 strips bacon, cooked to a crisp and crumbled (optional)
2 tablespoons fresh parsley or one tablespoon dried

Directions

  1. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan. Add onion and cook until tender, stirring frequently.  Add the flour and stir to make a paste.  Slowly add the chicken broth, stirring frequently with a whisk to avoid lumps.
  2. Add the potatoes.  Cover and cook for 10 minutes or until potatoes are barely tender.
  3. Stir in half and half and both cans of undrained corn. Cook uncovered for six to eight minutes.  Stir in ham or bacon if you are using these and the parsley.  Reheat if necessary.

Oh – and my kids?  My daughter (7) loved it – had seconds.  My son (2.5) picked out a few pieces of corn, all of his bacon and may or may  not have had potatoes . . . he was having more fun with his two trucks driving on the table.  He did eat all of his peaches and a “This fig walks into a bar” bar from Trader Joe’s, so he didn’t starve.

2 thoughts on “Corn Chowder – 3 ways (and The Prepared Pantry)

  1. By the way, I got a bit obsessive, and collected all of the Books available at The Prepared Pantry. And not all of them are available – you’ll get a “page not found” notice on some of them, but the materials available are still amazing. I’m also noticing that there are some duplicated recipes between the eBooks, but there is still a lot of excellent information.

  2. Silvester picks out the bacon every time it is present in any dish. He would find it in cake, he would eat the bacon, and not the cake.
    I’ll have to check out the prepared pantry. We’re working on living more out of what we buy for food storage. i’m finding the concept of 30 year preserved #10 cans isn’t working for me. If I’m not eating it now, then what’s the point? So we’re doing buckets and bags, and we just have a backlog of dried beans and fruit that as we finish one, we’ll replace it with one in the back of the queue.

Leave a Reply

