Almond or Cashew Milk Yogurt

Woohoo! After 3 failed batches I finally got the almond yogurt right. This won’t work with half the amount of almond ratio we would normally use for almond milk, I know, I tried :( it also will not culture without some sugar addition or thick-set without the cornstarch and pectin. You can reduce the honey to 2 tablespoons if you want a plain yogurt. Almonds are clearly not in the same family as milk, so they take a bit more convincing to turn into yogurt! Oh and I also made the same recipe with cashews yesterday, same results! so here is the drill:
Almond or Cashew Yogurt
2 C. Almonds or Cashews, soaked overnight
8 C. filtered Water
1/2 C. Pure Maple Syrup or Agave (more or less to taste)
1/3 C. Cornstarch, or Arrowroot Powder
1 T. Pectin for low sugar recipes, like SureJell or Mrs. Wages
1/2 t. vegan yogurt starter, good ones here and here and here
Make almond or cashew milk in batches in your blender with half the nuts and half the water. Strain and squeeze almonds through nut milk bag, this is not necessary with the cashews as they completely dissolve and leave no residue behind. On the stove-top, combine nut milk, sweetener of choice, cornstarch and pectin. Heat and stir constantly over medium heat until it reaches a low boil. Boil while stirring for 1 minute. Remove from heat. The mixture should look like a medium bodied pudding or custard, not thick, not overly thin. Cool in ice bath or set aside until temperature reads between 100 and 110 degrees. Add starter and whisk to combine thoroughly. Put in yogurt maker or your dehydrator (around 90 degrees) and incubate for 8-10 hours. Produces a very creamy, mild and sweet yogurt. If you like your yogurt more tart, culture it longer. It makes a big batch and will keep for up to a week in the fridge. This is SOOO Good and SOOO much cheaper (and better) then store-bought non-dairy yogurt!
Update: 4/26/12

You can totally make this without a yogurt maker, as Lisa suggested in the comment section below.  All you really need is the starter, thermometer, fleece blankets and a food cooler. I bought the yogurt maker because I thought it would simplify things and because I had a couple of failed sets along the way. I now realize that failures probably occurred because I was careless about measuring the temperature in my early yogurt making days. It is crucial to not add the starter when the nut milk is too hot or too cold, if it’s too hot, it will kill the starter, if it’s too cold, the starter can’t incubate well and create the bacteria growth necessary to make yogurt.

All you need to do is follow the instructions above for making the batch. Then instead of using a yogurt maker,  put your covered quart jars or bowl in a food cooler lined with fleece blankets and put the cooler lid back on.

Happy yogurt making!

9 thoughts on “Almond or Cashew Milk Yogurt

  1. I put my yogurt into qt jars and place in a cooler and stuff it full of fleece blankets. This works as well as an incubator to keep the temp constant – I make 6 qts at a time (I have 4 kids)

    • That’s a great idea! I used to do something similar. It mostly worked well, but after a couple failed sets I finally decided to invest in the yogurt maker. The model I bought has a tall lid so large containers can fit inside, including multiple quart jars. My failed sets may have come from other variables though!

  2. Pingback: Almond or Cashew Milk Yogurt « Good Clean Food | fitnessoversixty

  3. Pingback: Family Matters Most « Good Clean Food

  4. Pingback: Blueberry Peach Tart Crumble Thingy – Tasty Tuesday Series « Good Clean Food

    • The number I had for the store is disconnected! I’m so sorry! I recommend ordering from one of the other links on this page. I have some from GI Pro health and really like it.

Leave a Reply

