Day 1 Week-Long Green Smoothie Challenge

Woohoo! I got through day 1 without starving or losing my mind. I stuck with the diet completely and the only problem I had is that I could not physically eat all that I had planned to eat. At one point I really wanted to eat the leftovers of my son’s peanut butter sandwich, but only because I LOVE peanut butter! I tracked everything I ate on fitclick and I was only able to consume 945 calories. I know most of you will think that is crazy and that I am depriving myself, but check out here what I ate (or er, drank) and judge me then!

2 quarts of green smoothie, recipe here. 1 quart for breakfast, 1 quart for lunch That’s 8 crazy cups of greens and fruit baby!

Image

Snackage throughout the day: 1 C. of EACH of the following vegetables: carrots, celery, cucumber, I wanted to eat the 1 C. of broccoli and cauliflower I chopped up, and got 1/2 C. of the broccoli down and couldn’t even touch the cauliflower. I dipped them in 1/2 C. of my low-fat homemade hummus, recipe here

8 glasses of water, yes I had to pee like a banshee all day long, 

At the end of my day I made a salad for dinner, oh mando you even have any idea how much lettuce 5 cups of organic baby greens really is? Let me tell you, it’s not 5 cups measured out! That is what I had planned. I looked at the back of the package (see photo)

Image

1 lb of organic baby greens is supposed to be 10 cups, so I would have had to eat HALF a box of baby greens. I put half of the greens in a big stainless steel salad bowl, it was filled to the brim. I knew I would be sharing it half and half with my husband at that point because I don’t know of any human that can eat that much salad by themselves in one sitting. So my 5 cup plan was down to 2.5 cups. I then added: 1 diced red bell pepper, 2 diced anaheim peppers, 2 diced green onions, 2 vine ripened organic tomatoes, 1 can of low sodium black beans, drained and rinsed, a few sliced kalamata olives, 1/2 cup Chef AJ’s Unprocessed House Dressing, and tossed the heck out of it.

Image

It made 2 HUGE plates of salad. I finished more of my salad then my husband did, but only because I forced myself to consume as many nutrient dense veggies as possible, but I COULD NOT eat it all. And no, I did not feel hungry even 3 hours later when I went to bed.

Image

Oh yeah, and I got on the scale this morning, down 2 lbs since yesterday. That’s what I’m talking about!

There is no other diet that lets you eat until you are stuffed in your face that will reduce your cholesterol, fight cancer, help you be your ideal weight and provide you with crazy good nutrients and make you look and feel amazing like a whole foods plant based diet does!

Here are my stats from yesterday

DIET SCORE CARD  ( Edit targets )
Target:
Eaten:

Calories

under 1,400
945x

Carbohydrate

under 245 g
186 g 72%x

Protein

under 63 g
38 g 15%x

Fat

under 19 g
15 g 13%x

Water

over 8 glasses
8-1/3 glassesx
Target:
Eaten:

Dietary Fiber

over 25 g
50 gx

Saturated Fat

under 16 g
2 gx

Trans Fat

under 2 g
0 gx

Cholesterol

under 300 mg
0 mgx

Sodium

under 1,400 mg
2032 mgx
Target:
Eaten:

Sugars

under 88 g
63 gx

Vitamin A

over 2,333 IU
8487 IUx

Vitamin C

over 75 mg
199 mgx

Calcium

over 1,000 mg
495 mgx

Iron

over 18 mg
14 mgx

I was a little low on iron and calcium but I take the following supplements to remedy that here and here.

Eat that Atkins! BOO!

Oh yeah, and I am adding some soup recipes to the diet to eat in leiu of your ginormous dinner salad or in tandem so you can have reasonable sized portions without a million leftovers.

Here is approved soup recipe 1:

Big Ol’ Pot of Veggie Soup

1 Can organic diced tomatoes, with liquid (14.5 oz)

4 C. Vegetable Broth

1 Onion, Diced

1 C. Diced Carrots

1 C. Diced Zucchini

1 can Kidney Beans, drained and rinsed

2 C. Packed Baby Spinach

1 C. Frozen Green Beans

1 t. Italian Seasonings

2 Cloves Minced Garlic

Directions:

cook all in large saucepan until veggies are tender, or chuck it all in the crockpot and cook on low for 4-6 hours or high for 2-4 hours.
makes about 9 cups. A serving is 3 cups, so you can eat it for a few days. Each serving is 282 calories so you can have a side salad as well for dinner.
8 thoughts on “Day 1 Week-Long Green Smoothie Challenge

  1. Pingback: Day 2 Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge « Good Clean Food

  2. Pingback: Day 3 Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge « Good Clean Food

  3. Pingback: Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge Day 7 « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

