Day 2 Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge

For those of you wondering how you will possibly feel full while doing the green smoothie diet, check out this image which I have seen in the movies Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, and Forks over Knives:

Vegetables make your stomach seriously full! 

That being said,  day two was a little more challenging then day 1. Had some headaches and tiredness, but that is just as likely from only averaging 5 hours of sleep for the last few nights as it is from the challenge. It was good for me to experience though because it helps me to sympathize with those that are doing this cold turkey. Green smoothies and crazy amounts of veggies were all ready making up most of my daily diet.  Those who are doing this after eating a Standard American Diet will probably suffer a bit, but don’t worry, it will all be worth it and hopefully at the end of this challenge you will have a desire to eat more greens and whole foods then you used to!

So here is the what I had today:

Breakfast: Kale green smoothie with 4 C. organic packed kale, 2 medium bananas, 2 cups organic fruit blend, quarter lemon,  stevia to taste, this made 2 quarts, one for breakfast and one for later for lunch. Kale is more bitter then spinach, but the lemon helps to offset the bitterness (thanks to Allison for this tip!) Somehow the kale made me feel even fuller then the spinach, probably because the nutritional content in kale is off the charts.

For a snacks I had broccoli, celery, cucumber (about a cup each) and 1/2 C. hummus.

For lunch I had my second kale green smoothie (surprise!)

For Dinner: Ahhh, now for the happy part of my day! Eating a big bowl (3 Cups) of the Big Ol’ Pot of Veggie Soup was nice for a change to have something warm! I don’t know how raw foodists do all cold all the time, especially in winter! It was nice and filling and I found that I couldn’t eat the salad I had planned. It was stacked to the brim with veggies, so it didn’t hurt me nutritionally that I didn’t get my salad in.

I ended up using yellow summer squash instead of the zucchini because that’s what I had on hand, they are essentially the same nutrition wise.

I had planned on having some lovely steamed veggies during the day, but it was one of those crazy days filled with babysitting 3 busy toddlers so I never got around to it. Needless to say, I wasn’t really hungry enough to eat it anyway.

I went shopping last night to stock up on items for the diet and there was all sorts of food everywhere, I’m focused enough that none of it made me want to give in. I am sure I will be singing a different tune by the end of the week, but for now having to be accountable to others and being in charge of the blog posts is keeping me on track!

 

 

Here are my stats for the day: I was low on vitamin A, iron and calcium, but everything else was stellar. Doubt I ever got such good stats before I switched over to a plant based diet. And again, I take a multivitamin supplement to take care of any vitamin deficiencies. Peace Out!

Target:
Eaten:

Calories

under 1,400
929x

Carbohydrate

under 245 g
191 g 76%x

Protein

under 63 g
37 g 15%x

Fat

under 19 g
10 g 9%x

Water

over 8 glasses
8-1/8 glassesx

 

Target:
Eaten:

Dietary Fiber

over 25 g
51 gx

Saturated Fat

under 16 g
1 gx

Trans Fat

under 2 g
0 gx

Cholesterol

under 300 mg
0 mgx

Sodium

under 1,400 mg
793 mgx

 

Target:
Eaten:

Sugars

under 88 g
70 gx

Vitamin A

over 2,333 IU
1821 IUx

Vitamin C

over 75 mg
574 mgx

Calcium

over 1,000 mg
688 mgx

Iron

over 18 mg
12 mgx
6 thoughts on “Day 2 Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge

  1. You should come up and go to Sage’s with us sometime for Raw Foods night – last Friday of the month. We had it once and it was super satisfying and still warm, just not cooked or hot. I think 115 degrees is the max, but that’s pretty warm for some things. Also, check out Omar’s Rawtopia and you might be surprised what reviews say. Anyway, super props.

  2. I bought the “Raw: the Uncook Book” by Juliano 10 or so years ago and went raw for 3 months. After a while everything tasted like grass and it was just sooooo hard! I couldn’t keep it up and I think it burned me. I’m good with lots of raw, just not all. I love to be able to eat grains without sprouting and dehydrating them first. However, We would love to go to Sage’s with you if we can ever get a babysitter! I will check out the review.

Leave a Reply

