Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge Day 6

So the good news is, the longer I do this, the less I am tempted to cheat. I feel revitalized and refreshed for the most part. My workouts have definitely been tougher this week as my body is tapping into my fat stores to burn energy instead of what I ate that day, which is why I’m losing weight, but also makes it harder for me to push with my cardiovascular or strength training. That’s ok! I’m still getting results. Now if only I could get more sleep I think I would be on top of the world!

I wish I could measure the amount of antioxidants I am getting every day so that I could show you the insane amount of free radical busters and cancer fighters I am consuming…. I might have to look into that!

Here are my meals for the day:

Breakfast: Green Smoothie with 5 C. packed spinach, 2 medium bananas, 2 cups mixed frozen berries, 2 T. ground flax seed, 4 C. water and stevia to taste. This made 2 quarts. I drank on and put one in the fridge for later.

Mid-Morning Snack: 1 C. Cherub Tomatoes. Those little babies are tasty!

Lunch: Still snowy and cold outside! I had planned on having a veggies only stir fry, but needed the leftover cheezy-smokey-spicy black bean soup. Mmmm!

Afternoon Snack: Second Green Smoothie

Dinner: Updated Garbanzo Bean Salad (I have another garbanzo salad recipe on this site, but it’s not green smoothie diet approved) I served the salad over 2 C. Steamed Spinach. Here is the recipe (photo taken before I had the genius idea to serve it over steamed spinach).

Updated Garbano Bean Salad Recipe

4 C. diced tomatoes (I used cherub tomatoes, man they are good!)

1 can low-sodium garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed (removes even more sodium this way!)

1 C. diced english cucumber

1 C. diced celery

1/3 C. chopped fresh basil

1 t. italian seasonings

4 T. balsalmic vinegar

1 T. tahini

salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Toss veggies, herbs and beans together in a big bowl. Put the balsalmic vinegar, tahini and minced garlic in a small lidded jar. Shake until combined. Pour over salad. Season with salt and pepper if desired, Toss and serve over steamed green spinach if desired. This recipe makes 6 servings at about 1.5 cups per serving. I cheated and had 2 whole cups ;)

Here are my stats for the day:

Target:
Eaten:

Calories

under 1,400
1187x

Carbohydrate

under 245 g
223 g 68%x

Protein

under 63 g
61 g 19%x

Fat

under 19 g
19 g 13%x

Water

over 8 glasses
8-2/3 glassesx
Target:
Eaten:

Dietary Fiber

over 25 g
65 gx

Saturated Fat

under 16 g
2 gx

Trans Fat

under 2 g
0 gx

Cholesterol

under 300 mg
0 mgx

Sodium

under 1,500 mg
1449 mgx
Target:
Eaten:

Sugars

under 100 g
75 gx

Vitamin A

over 2,333 IU
8250 IUx

Vitamin C

over 75 mg
230 mgx

Calcium

over 1,000 mg
838 mgx

Iron

over 18 mg
24 mgx
Leave a Reply

