Tasty Tuesday Series Part III – The Vegan Mother’s Day Feast

It’s still Tasty Tuesday, sick of me yet? Well you won’t be when I give you the recipes from our Mother’s Day Feast at the end of this post ;)

Vegan Mother’s Day Feast

Frosty Blackberry Lemonade with Mint

Green Salad with Roasted Beets, Sweet Potatoes, Avocado and Slivered Almonds (Inspired by this dish at the VVP)

Handmade Artisan Boule

Baked Millet Risotto

Sauteed Green Beans with Radishes (not pictured)

Maple Glazed Seitan Almond Neat Loaf

Orange Infused Chocolate Truffle Tart

Sounds good doesn’t it? This Mother’s Day I wanted to treat myself a special celebration feast. Not just a celebration for being a mother, which is notable on its own, but a celebration of self. You see, I switched my family to a whole-foods-plant-based diet in January, 129 days ago. My first post describes why I went plant-based. Here is a short re-cap. I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, an Autoimmune Inflammatory Bowel Disease 6 years ago. Since that point I have been sick, sometimes so sick that I would have 30 or more bloody bowel movements a day. I couldn’t leave the house without an adult diaper or make it to a bathroom in the house on time. I had constant stomach pain, it would hurt so bad I would often cry.  I was on all kinds of medications, many of which were very damaging to my body and had horrible side effects, including a 100 lb weight gain. In addition to that I also had developed some auto-immune skin conditions including facial swelling called angioedema.

Now for the good part of the story. Since switching to a 100% vegan diet, I have completely resolved all my health issues. I am not currently taking any prescription drugs of any kind and my disease is in complete remission. I was only reminded that I even had an autoimmune disease last week when I didn’t sleep enough and had way too much stress going on. My stomach rebelled a little, but nothing at all like it used to.  Diapers and prescriptions did not get involved! There is an important health trio of eating the right foods, getting enough sleep, and keeping stress in check.

My quality of life has drastically improved. I had forgotten what it felt like to feel well, it’s a wonderful feeling. So I wanted to celebrate that, cause I’m pretty dang proud of myself for making myself well.  Here is the plant-based feast I created for myself. (My husband usually prepares the Mother’s Day meal, but was a bit daunted by a plant-based feast, so he watched the children while I spent the afternoon cooking. It was divine (really). The reason some of the photos are in the back of a car is that when we were about to sit down to eat (and I was about to take some photos of said feast) is that I found out there was someone who needed a little mother’s day feast on their table too, so I split our meal in half and did a delivery. Good thing I always make too much food!

Frosty Blackberry Lemonade: from my post for the VVP, using fresh blackberries that were blended with water then strained to remove seeds) instead of strawberries, recipe here

Green Salad with Roasted Beets, Sweet Potatoes, Avocado and Slivered Almonds

2 Sweet Potatoes

2 Beets, tops removed

1 Diced Avocado

Beet greens from above beets

4 C. Romaine or baby lettuces

Red Wine Vinegar

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt  & Pepper

Garlic Clove

1/4 C. Slivered Almonds

Method: rinse and scrub sweet potatoes and beets. Leave skins on, Bake on a tray lined with parchment paper in 350 degree oven for 60 minutes or until soft. Let cool. Cut garlic clove in half and rub clove all over the inside of your salad bowl, save clove for another use. Pull skin from sweet potato (it will fall right off), dice sweet potatoes and beets into 1/2 inch cubes. Place lettuce, beet greens, beets, sweet potato, avocado and slivered almonds in salad bowl. Drizzle with a quick drizzle of the olive oil and the vinegar. Season with salt and pepper. Toss lightly and serve.

Handmade Artisan Boule: recipe here

Baked Millet Risotto: click here for my recipe

Sauteed Green Beans with Radishes

1 lb fresh green beans, washed and trimmed

1 red onion, cut into slivers

1 bunch radishes, washed with greens removed

1 garlic clove minced – from above salad, saved for another use ;)

Method: Water saute onion and green beans over high heat, adding a couple of tablespoons of water as needed, add radishes and garlic, cook until for a few more minutes. Remove from heat, season with salt and pepper to taste

Maple Glazed Seitan Almond Neat Loaf: click here for my recipe

Orange Infused Dark or “Milk” Chocolate Truffle Tart

1 bag (or 2 cups) dairy free dark chocolate chips

1 cup canned coconut milk, warmed till steaming

1-2 packages shelf stable mori-nu lite silken tofu

1 drop wild orange essential oil or 1/2 t. orange extract

6 graham cracker sheets (omit or use substitute for gluten-free version)

2 T. tahini

Method: Process graham cracker sheets with tahini in food processor. Press into bottom of 8 inch springform pan. May be a bit dry and crumbly, that’s okay! The moist filling will adhere to it nicely! Place chocolate chips in a medium bowl. Pour steaming coconut milk over chocolate chips. Stir until melted. In the blender, put 1 or 2 blocks of mori-nu silken tofu depending on your chocolate intensity level, 1 block makes a super intense dark chocolate truffle dessert. 2 blocks makes a more mild “milk” chocolate truffle dessert. Pour melted chocolate over tofu, add 1 drop orange essential oil or the orange extract. Blend until thoroughly combined. Pour over graham cracker crust. Cover and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight before serving. Remove from springform pan and garnish with chocolate shavings and orange zest strips if desired. Makes 8-16 servings depending on your tolerance for an ultra-rich dessert.

20 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday Series Part III – The Vegan Mother’s Day Feast

    • Thanks! It’s out of control and super easy to make. I only wish I had a few more minutes to get everything photographed properly, it really was such a beautiful feast! ;)

      • I know what you mean, I cooked for my family on Sunday and they were all rushing me to finish taking photos so they could eat. Not that I ever really photograph things properly. I think it’s time for a camera upgrade.

      • I definitely need a camera upgrade! I use my pathetic phone, but mostly because it’s always on me, and it’s fast ;)

      • I use my phone! And I feel like it’s very obvious. Especially when I look at other blogs’ photos… then I get serious blog envy. But see, I never would have guessed that’s what you use, so maybe I’m just paranoid.

      • You want to know something REALLY pathetic? I actually own a really fancy Nikkon digital camera, the kind that costs booko buckage. I just don’t know how to use it!

        Totally have blog envy, but I like to think blogs like ours are a little more the real deal. Food doesn’t always look perfect. I’m not always going to take a photo of something I eat, because I think that’s lame. So keep on keeping on with your camera phone ;)

    • I unspammed this then didn’t reply! Sorry! Thanks Annie. It was indeed a very yummy and healthy feast. My diet makes me very happy!

  1. I made your Artisan bread the other two days, and they were good, but I have to keep practicing to get as good as yours. I keep loving your pics of kids, and thank you for your sweet Mom’s Day wish on the other page. From all that goes on in your house (as well as the billions of other houses where there are good mothers), you are a much needed and extremely nurturing mother (and wife, of course, but it’s nearly the same, what with all the love all four of them need all the time). BTW, did you get the stained glass little quilt for Franklin? Just to put over him, it may be too small for him! Love you, and a slightly belated Happy Mother’s Day.

  2. This is so awesome and you are one amazing woman! I never cook for more than two, so it will take a month to make everything you made for one day!

    • Carecia! You are so sweet. I DO spend a lot of time in the kitchen, but only because I love it. It looks like you are whipping up tons of amazing healthy things over at your blog too. I love the blogging “sisterhood” !

      • I love the sisterhood, too. Learning from other women completes the circle of womanhood.

      • I couldn’t agree more. I have made some really close friends through this experience, AND they are people I have never even met before. So weird and so cool all at the same time.

  3. This is so awesome and you are one amazing woman! I never cook for more than two, so it will take a month to make everything you made for one day!

    Your story is also amazing. We started our journey within days of each other and my husband and I are enjoying the same outcome.

    I wish you continued recovery; I just read your post to my husband and your words touched me emotionally. Good for you! good for US!

    • That’s right, good for US. I am super proud of you too my dear. And blogging, fortunately is a great way to share with others what you have learned so keep it up.

      I love how far I’ve come and how good I feel. My diet truly has changed my life.

  4. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday Series Part III – The Vegan … – Good Clean Food - vegan-foods

  5. So inspiring! I love hearing of the healing power of food, shared community, and love! Be well and enjoy every bite along the journey! I can’t wait to try that blackberry mint lemonade!

    • Thanks! Yes, the blackberry mint lemonade is a treat! I nearly forgot about that one! Need to blend it up again!

Leave a Reply

