A Salad Sandwich on Seeded Bread – Tasty Tuesday Series

It’s Tasty Tuesday and sometimes I can’t decide whether to have a salad for lunch or a sandwich. So instead I make a salad sandwich. :)

When you make a sandwich do you get in a rut and stick to basics or mostly go for the fail-safe PB&J? If so, it’s time to branch out with a sandwich that’s anything but mundane. I fell in love with many foods when I lived in Australia for 2 years (15 years ago). However, my favorite lunch go-to was the salad sandwich on seeded bread, not that they don’t have seeded bread here in the USA, but almost all bread you buy here is sweetened, whereas bread in Australia is never sweetened unless it’s an intentional sweet bread…. Got it?  This sandwich is inspired by my favorite little sandwich shop in Sydney on George Street near the Queen Victoria Building.

Salad Sandwich Possibilities:

feel free to add whatever veggies suit your fancy

Seeded or wholegrain bread (seeded bread recipe below), Romaine, spinach or baby lettuces, Beets, sliced or shredded, raw or pickled, Carrots, shredded, Bell pepper strips (bright colors are sweeter and yummier), Alfalfa or other sprouts, Avocado Slices, Cucumber Slices, Tomato Slices, Red or White onion thinly slivered, A slice or two of Cashew Cheez A sprinkling of sea salt and freshly ground black pepperSpread possibilities: Hummus, house dressing, dijon mustard, miso cashew ranch dressing, sriracha bbq sauce, sundried tomato pesto. This particular sandwich had the miso cashew dressing, dijon mustard AND sriracha bbq sauce. Divine.

Quick Seeded Bread

Ingredients: 2 C. white whole wheat four, 1 C. unbleached organic bread flour, 1.5 heaped t. active dry yeast, 1 heaped t. sea salt. 1 1/3 C. warm water. 1 T. vital wheat gluten

Seed combo: a T. of each; flax, chia, sunflower, millet (ok, this is really a grain), black sesame and white sesame.

Method: In your kneading apparatus or with your hands, combine flours, yeast, salt, vital wheat gluten and water. Knead for 10 minutes or until elastic and smooth. Shape into a round ball and place on a cookie sheet dusted with cornmeal. Let rest for 20 minutes. Brush top of loaf with water, sprinkle seed mixture over the top. Make some slashes across the top with a sharp knife, bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until crust is golden brown

What do you put on your sandwich?

31 thoughts on “A Salad Sandwich on Seeded Bread – Tasty Tuesday Series

    • Thanks! It really is so yummy, I’m making another one today with leftover pesto from last night, can’t go wrong ;)

  1. That is my kind of sammich! The texture of that bread is gorgeous and I love there is no sweetness added- I like the way those Aussies think! And I think you and I have the same philosophy when it comes to sandwich fillings: The more the merrier! Yum!

    • Yes! I could add just about any veggie to a sandwich! Roasted eggplant, grilled mushrooms or onions, artichokes and kalamata olives….. It’s gonna be a yummy summer!

      Yay for not sweetened bread!

    • Thanks! Hey, unrefined whole grain carbs are good for you! people who say otherwise are nuts and probably just looking for a way to fit more meat into their diets ;)

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Peach Tart Crumble Thingy – Tasty Tuesday Series « Good Clean Food

  3. Thank you for mentioning sweetened bread. It’s terrible! Seeded bread is yummy, and your sarnie looks delish.

  4. Pretty sure I need to make that bread tomorrow on our cold day. I need to train my children to be on my team when it comes to making food. We are all happier for it. I wonder if I could double it and get double the fun, since I’m pretty sure I’m going to end up eating a loaf in one sitting. I’m trying Pita tomorrow with bucket no-knead bread, but it’s all white flour.

    • It’s pretty tasty, add caraway to the seed mixture if you have it, I didn’t. Boo. I double the recipe all the time. You can also make the crust crispy like artisan bread if you cook it in your lidded creuset on 500 for 30 minutes but it won’t develop the lovely crumb structure that artisan bread has. It’s just so much more reasonable on a daily basis when I don’t have room for a big ol’ bucket of dough in my fridge because it is brimming with fruit and veg.

      Mmmm pita. I don’t do well with white flour anymore. D and the kids like it, but 1 cup like in this recipe is all they get anymore, the funny thing is, I don’t think any of them knew it was mostly whole wheat. Haha. I like being tricky like that.

  5. Pingback: Brillion Grass Seeder For Sale | Seeders For Sale

  6. Pingback: My 30-year old A/C and Grilled Portabello “Burgers” « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

