Tasty Tuesday Series – Lemon Essential Oil Saved my Shorts

It’s still Tasty Tuesday and I thought you may or may not want to know that apparently there isn’t much that essential oils aren’t good for. I just removed melted crayon from my entire dryer drum, AND four pairs of lululemon running shorts with a bottle of lemon essential oil. For Reals.

There were other clothes in the load too, but not clothes that made me want to cry if they were ruined. Now, my dryer drum looks like new, and a pesky piece of gum that was stuck there forever is gone too. AND my lululemon shorts are redeemed and lemony fresh! Sigh….

Update: In my glee I didn’t give you the method, which you will thank me for if you ever need it! Method: For the dryer I put the lemon essential oil directly on the crayon stains in the dryer and rubbed them off with a clean DRY washcloth. It was pretty much like a magic eraser, but the whole dryer was blue, so I was there for a while and switched out cloths a couple of times. IMPORTANT: wash out your dryer with a bucket of soapy water and a washcloth after you do this, since oils are flammable and you don’t want to start a house fire over a little crayon conundrum. For the shorts I put the oil directly onto the crayon marks, scrubbed them a bit with a DRY toothbrush, then let them soak in a solution of hot water, baking soda and laundry detergent for 30 minutes before re-laundering them.

23 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday Series – Lemon Essential Oil Saved my Shorts

    • Haha! If you google how to remove melted crayon from a dryer, MANY websites say to use WD-40 or toothpaste. Unfortunately I know this because this is the 2nd time this has happened to me. I did the WD-40: toxic chemical smell while your head is stuck in the dryer for over an hour because it’s ineffective, and then toothpaste which sorta worked, but also took the top layer of the enamel off the inside of my dryer. Also, trying to wash the WD-40 and toothpaste out of my dryer was a Hurculean task of it’s own! I was really terrified of WD-40 flames and indeed the dryer did smell like it might explode for weeks afterwards despite my cleaning efforts.

      Let’s just say the lemon essential oil experience was MUCH more pleasant in EVERY way.

  1. And I thank you for the phrase ‘crayon conundrum’ – that’s a good one. Glad yours ended happily. It rear-ended for the LuluLemon shorts :-)

  2. You are supermom! The twins are past the crayon phase, but we do still end up with crazy things in the laundry. I will have to call you the next time I have to clean-up any crazy conundrums/disasters. :-)

    • Thanks! Didn’t feel much like supermom at the moment, more like ‘autopilot don’t cry moment’ ;)

      Yes do call, I may or may not have a solution!

  3. We found a whole broken set of watercolors in the washer yesterday. Crayons are old hat, we’ve gotten fancier. Maybe that’s why I try desperately to avoid the dryer. Purple crayon on all of my napkins and kitchen towels … Matt went to town with goo gone, but i think lemon oil might smell nicer and be less caustic.

    • Crazy that we had similar occurrences on the same day! Did the goo gone work?!? I know at some point I’m gonna miss this stage. At least we aren’t still in the poo painting phase!

  4. News you can use! Now I understand why you were up last night cleaning your dryer. (I was partly a little worried about you and partly a little worried about me: have I EVER cleaned my dryer? Am I SUPPOSED to clean my dryer?) :) I’m going to start coming here for my stain-removal tips instead of checking with Martha Stewart. :)

    • I WISH that was me, stock photo! ;) I’m small but always feel like I look like a skinny girl who used to be fat! (Totally true, because that is exactly what I have been through). I will have some photos up Tuesday with me in my lemon fresh lulus!

    • We love essential oils around here. I treated hives my husband developed the other day with melaleuca and lavender. They disappeared within 30 minutes. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

