Kalmata Cannellini Bean Dip, Ab Fab Bug Spray, and a little Special Sauce

Vegan week 5 and loving it!  Our kitchen is exploding with produce, the crockpot is cooking up a veggie soup, the cuisinart just knocked out “larabars” three ways, fresh salsa on the cutting board and more goodness in the works.   And grilled veggies have been lovely with this old time (since freshman year in college- don’t ask) favorite seasoning.  Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt is amazing on roasted potatoes as well.


Funny thing.  My husband ate olives.  And liked them.  Shhhhh- he doesn’t know it yet.  He swears he never will.  Hates the suckers.  Not that I wouldn’t tell him if he asked, but he hasn’t so neither have I.  They were mixed in this yummy bean dip:

Kalmata Cannellini Bean Dip
(a fresher version of the Engine 2 Diet recipe)

2 cups Cannellini Beans, cooked in crock (or 1 can, drained and rinsed- I like fresh much better)
1 clove Garlic, coarsely chopped
2 tblish lemon juice (to taste)
1 tsp fresh thyme (yay for gardens!)
1tsp fresh rosemary (yay again! rosemary loves UT soil)
1/4 tspish sea salt (to taste)
4 Kalmata olives, roughly chopped

Blend.  I like to see bits of olive so I don’t over puree it.

Serve with pita chips or as a fresh veggie dip.  Or on a sandwich.  Or as an appetizer spread.  Possibilities.

Up next:  Homemade Insect Repellant!  This concoction was born last year as my sister and I perused the aisle with natural bug sprays.  As I read the ingredients and looked at the prices, I knew I could do better.  This is what we ended up with.

Two spray bottles (actually 3, my sister took one out into the field with her- she’s a wilderness therapist.)
Olive Oil- you could use any oil carrier you like.  The olive oil goes on quite nice.  And it looks pretty in a clear bottle. ;)
Essential Oils-
Tea Tree, Lemongrass, and Citronella.

Easiest recipe ever.  Ok, maybe not ever, but pretty close.

2 oz carrier oil
20 drops lemongrass
20 drops citronella
10 drops tea tree

Multiply for larger batches.  Mix.  Pour into bottles.  Yup.

This bug oil is absolutely fabulous.  It smells yummy, goes on smooth, moisturizes summer tanned skin, and most importantly, KEEPS THE BUGS AWAY.  One full year of use later, I will never even consider putting the evil DEET on my children.  Remember how I mentioned my sister took a bottle?  It worked so well being out in the woods for days at a time that she came back for a refill.  Ab fab my friends, ab fab.

And lastly, a little flavor for your ears- a little somethin’ somethin’ to put on as you get ready to sauce it up in the kitchen:  Baby’s Got Sauce by G-Love and Special Sauce.

Chocolate Sauce is what’s in the works. This recipe reminded me more of a hershey syrup more than fondue like I hoped.  Amanda’s Magic Shell made with coconut oil (why can’t I find the recipe on the blog?!?) is a thicker chocolate dip than this turned out to be, but still it was tasty with strawberries, even tastier with cherries and extra delish drizzled over Peanut Butter Chocolate So Delicious Ice Cream with sliced bananas.

Once again, found this in the Engine 2 Diet cookbook.  Yeah Rip.

Chocolate Sauce
1 tsp cornstarch
1/2 c water
2 Tbl cocoa powder
3 Tbl agave nectar or maple syrup (I used maple agave, thinking I would be doubly awesome, but my awesomely talented taster *Amanda* decided the agave left it a bit bitter- going maple next time)
1 tsp vanilla

Mix the cornstarch with a small amount of water until there are no lumps.  Whisk in the remaining water, sweetener, and cocoa.  Cook in a heavy saucepan over low hear, stirring continuously until the sauce thickens.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.  Drizzle.

We’ve got sauce.

Dig.

21 thoughts on “Kalmata Cannellini Bean Dip, Ab Fab Bug Spray, and a little Special Sauce

    • Of course! I hope it works as well for you as it has for us!! PS- love your blog. I want to eat what you are eating. And travel where you travel. SO AWESOME!

  1. I’m sorry I haven’t posted that yet – maybe tomorrow? I already have pictures and it really should be a staple. Staple, I tell you, a staple. I actually scoop out fingerfuls when nobody is looking. Mmmmmm. I won’t right now though since it’s fast sunday for you. Off to church soon. Big day. Need to brush Zola’s hair.

  2. Tomorrow is good. :) It will be my chocolate chips, next generation. Good luck. Hope your kiddos are little angels for you, hehe. Baby H actually made it up to the organ and started playing it today during church. Awesome. My little firecracker. Appropriate since she is in full patriotic dress- star covered dress and ruby red slippers.

    • I wish I could have seen that, my ward has seen me chase specialK to the podium and around more often than I care to admit.

  3. I’ve made a similar chocolate sauce and it was insanely delish! I didn’t see your cocoa amount, did I just miss it?

    Keep this good stuff coming!

  4. Must make bean dip and sauce. now. how much cocoa powder? Is it absent or is it just me? xoxo Can’t wait for GCFGNO. Thurs for cafe rio?

    • That is a serious acronym…. I have to process it for a moment every time I read it. Blame it on momnesia. I’ll check the calendar for Thursday! And yes, it was missing. Another case of the mysterious momnesia- I swear my kids stole my brain cells. It’s fixed now…

  5. THANK YOU so much for sharing the homemade bug dope- we have been looking for an alternative and I think we found a winner based on your review!

  6. Pingback: Veggie Dog Meat Analogue Review & July Giveaways! « Good Clean Food

  7. I’ve never made my own anything with oils so this may come off as a silly question… Could you use coconut oil as the carrier for this? I’ve heard it’s really lovely for the skin.

Leave a Reply

