From my farm to my fork: Gingered Greens & Tofu

My husband went to school in upstate New York a few years back, long before I entered his life. He remembers distinctly the two times he went to Moosewood Restaurant. We have only been back there once together and it was before we were even married and I was still clueless about food – I made fancy spaghetti by adding veggies and sausage, but that might have been it. He was even more clueless – by the end of the week his individual meals would constituted an entire meal, corn one night, bacon another, salad yet another. So, suffice to say, we didn’t make it to Moosewood.

A couple few years ago, I got my first Moosewood cookbook from my mother and acquired yet another a few years after that. I want all of them now, well at least the ones I can use for everyday cooking and not so much the ones for Sunday meals and stuff since I’m not ready to fight that battle. But I love these books.

One night a few weeks back we got home late from our garden, fed the kids PB&J, and put them to bed. I was starving. Pancho was only a few weeks old and I wanted to eat something delicious. On my counter I had a bag full of stir-fry greens (quite honestly I don’t know what’s in them besides kale and chard, but probably mustards and stuff) and a pile of garlic scapes. So, I pulled out the handy Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home and made this in a jiffy. And can I just say how AWESOME it was to cook without distractions? I didn’t care that I was eating dinner at 10:30 – I was just happy to be eating dinner 25 minutes after starting with Matt and nobody else!!

And yes, I used white rice – GUILTY! But it was quick and like I said, a nursing mama’s gotta do what she can to stuff her face! AND, another and, I know, I apologize for posting a recipe that uses ingredients that you can’t necessarily find in a grocery store. It’s terribly mean, and I hate it when people do it to me, but if you get your hands on greens (which is tough this time of year, but give it a few months!) and some garlic, you’re good to go.

I don’t know if it was eating this without children that made it especially good, or if it was just really that good, but I made it again three days later, and then another week after that. I can’t wait until fall when my greens aren’t bolting at the first sign of sunshine to make it again, but this time with the beautiful bulbs of garlic I just finished tying and are ready to hang and cure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gingered Greens and Tofu:
Adapted from Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home

Tofu Marinade:
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup dry sherry or mirin
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
2 Tbs brown sugar or agave nectar

1-2 cakes of extra firm tofu

2 Tbs coconut or safflower oil, divided
2 Tbs grated fresh ginger
5-6 garlic scapes, chopped
6 cups coarsely chopped stir-fry greens (bok choy, Chinese cabbage, or Swiss Chard)
Juice of one lime
Splash of chili oil

Optional toppings: toasted cashews
Put on a pot of long grain brown rice.
Cut the tofu into 1/2″ slices, then ~1″ squares.
In a small saucepan, bring the marinade ingredients to a boil. Simmer for 1 minute and remove from heat.
Place the squares of tofu in a non-reactive heatproof pan – a half sheet pan was big enough for two cakes of tofu.
Pour the marinade over the tofu squares, sprinkle with one Tablespoon of oil, and set aside for ~10-40 minutes.
Preheat the broiler on high.
Broil the tofu for 7-8 minutes, until lightly browned; then turn it over with a spatula and brown the other side. (This is the most tedious part.)
While the tofu broils, heat 1 Tbs of canola oil in a wok or large skillet.
Stir in the ginger and garlic scapes stirring until fragrant (~1 minute).
Add the greens, stirring constantly over high heat until the greens are wilted. When the greens are just tender, add the lime juice, and chili oil, and remove from heat.
When the tofu is browned, gently toss it with the marinade and the cooked greens, and reheat if necessary. Top with toasted nuts if you like and serve immediately over white brown rice.

21 thoughts on “From my farm to my fork: Gingered Greens & Tofu

  1. Awesome story and great looking dish. I got The Enchanted Broccoli Forest when I was about 18 and while I don’t use it as written very often (shocker there, eh) I have found it to be endlessly inspiring, and so beautifully written. here’s to Moosewood, even if none of us ever get to go. ;-)

    • Here’s to them! I do love them and one day, one day. I just need to convince us not to visit so much family when we’re back there and have more adventure – Moosewood adventure! Beautiful books – all of them.

  2. I think that I’m in love with this recipe. I might just have to make it at 10pm, so I can eat it. ALL BY MYSELF.

    • All by yourself is better on this one – the kids don’t always dig it. I’ve made it with other veggies too, but it’s just not the same. Simple is better!

  3. So let’s make a pact to meet at the Moosewood Restaurant on December 12, 2012 (just to make the Mayan Message Maniacs Mad). But for now…. let’s all make it right now and eat it!! (Wish I could – hope you get some Somer!

    • My in-laws would love that, so it probably won’t happen. But until then, we’ll be so, so grateful Moosewood folks write books. Moosewood will one day see my face, though likely not this year – winter traveling with kids is the pits! Maybe I’ll dream it and it will seem real!

    • I have had the kids eat it, but they tend to like it when I throw in other veggies better, and it’s not as good that way. I’m almost tempted to have us do take out tonight and eat at the garden – doesn’t that sound more pleasant? (except for the hot thing…)

      • I still remember you cooking up some greens at the garden a few years ago- a beautiful night. I think you used bacon then though. ;)

  4. I love my moose wood recipient books too. I bought the low fat favorites restaurant version years ago and have worn it to pieces. I must rebind it soon!
    I do tend to add a bit more oil because that helps prevent me getting constipated too. Roughage just doesn’t keep things moving for me.
    Thanks for visiting my blog
    Cheers
    jo

    • I’m always up for a bit of extra oil or fat in our house! And the best cookbooks are the most loved! It’s our substitute for the teddy bear.

  5. Pingback: Planting time!!! (with a fabulous ending – keep reading) « Good Clean Food

  6. Pingback: One Simple Sauce – Several Tasty Meals | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

