Oh Snap (No Worries) Mexi Bean Dip and Dreamy Agave Cornbread

I have to be honest.  I can’t sugar coat things and say I have had a lovely week of vegan bliss.  This week was challenging, in a knock the wind out of your sails kind of way.  It was HARD to be vegan.  Get togethers didn’t have vegan fare, restaurants had limited options, everything I made at home for 2 days was a flop (grey mush, doughy bisquits, the list goes on) and I can’t even tell you how many people gave me “the look.”  You know the one.  The are-you-kidding-me-you-crazy-non-conforming-health-nut-why-don’t-you-just-eat-like-a-normal-person one.

So I press on, determined to stay positive and 0n track.  I feel healthier and lighter as I eat a plant based diet.  When I have slipped and eaten something with processed sugar or have had more carbs than produce, I feel heavy, weighed down.  I know I am on the right path.  I know without a doubt that my health is worth it, for me and for my family.

Now I share  with you my go-to dish.  All ingredients are stocked in my pantry at all times, minus the produce, but those are staples in our kitchen anyways.  If there is a last minute company coming, I always know I can pull out a colorful batch of Oh Snap (No Worries) Mexi Bean Dip.  Add tortilla chips, roll it up in a tortilla, serve with cornbread, or eat as a side.  A very versatile dish.  And loaded with nutrients.

I had to show you the separate ingredients, so pretty!  Here it is all stirred up:

Oh Snap (No Worries) Mexi Bean Dip

3 cans of beans (or 6 cups cooked) rinsed and drained well
3 varieties- black, pinto, kidney, garbanzo, be creative!
1 can (2 c. fresh) corn, drained
1 onion, chopped fine
2 tomatoes, diced
1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped
1 pepper, diced (green, red, jalepeno, mix it up)
1 jar salsa (homemade is best, but whatever you’ve got)
1/2 packet favorite seasoning packet (fajita, guacamole) or individual seasonings to taste
1 avocado, cubed
1 lime

Important:  Save avocado and lime until just before you serve!

Combine all ingredients except avocado and lime.  Gently toss.  Right before serving, drizzle lime juice over avocado and add to other ingredients.  You’re done!

Like I mentioned, this dish is super versatile, so play with it, it’s a tough one to mess up.  That’s saying a lot coming from me. And I have to ask- what’s your go to dish?

Up next, Dreamy Agave Cornbread found on Allrecipes.  I have been craving a moist, delicious baked good lately and finally found one that hit the spot.  They were gobbled up by the family in minutes, next round will need to be a triple batch if I want leftovers!

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This Kitchen Approved Recipe has an average star rating of 4.8 by 87 voters! a good sign- now 88 :)

Original Recipe Yield 6 muffins-I made 10 and they were a perfect single serving size for little hands

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda (I did closer to 1/3 to adjust for altitude)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (we had homemade in the freezer, the little apple chunks were a nice addition)
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil (I used coconut oil, yummy substitute, worked great especially since our house is so warm it was already melted for ease of use!)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Lightly grease a muffin pan.
  2. Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl; stir in the applesauce, soy milk, and agave nectar. Slowly add the oil while stirring. Pour the mixture into the muffin pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick or small knife inserted in the crown of a muffin comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes.

We topped ours with strawberry freezer jam- delightful.

And finally we put together this little number for dessert, thanks to Aijay at FreeFlowFoodie only hers was much more lovely seeing as I had three hollering, very hungry children needing me to hurry up.  Beauty had to be sacrificed a bit.  We served the fruit with a yummy berry yogurt and it was a hit.  Aijay, my family gives you props for presentation!

24 thoughts on “Oh Snap (No Worries) Mexi Bean Dip and Dreamy Agave Cornbread

  1. I like your description of the look! I still haven’t made it all the way vegan because eatin out is impossible, family affairs are even worse, and my husband is a meat eater so I feel bad to not cook something non veggie for him at least once a week. Thanks for the recipes!

    • I completely understand! My husband and kids are still carnivorous too. It is extra work but I often end up making multiple dishes (a vegan and non-vegan option) at a meal and people can pick and choose, as long as they try at least one bit of the veggie dish. Little by little we’ve come a long way- my oldest now loves portabella mushrooms and my middle doesn’t think twice about spinach anymore. Anyways, I’m rambling. Baby steps, right? As for eating out, I’ve been working on a post for next week on traveling vegan (we are about to hit the road for 2 weeks) and found a great article about eating out at any restaurant vegan. I’ll post it next Monday!

  2. That looks so fresh and fabulous! And the muffins…MMMMmmmm!
    I have a couple ‘go-to’ dishes depending on if I’m hungry now and it’s a staple that always makes the taste buds happy – Spicy Moroccan Chickpeas (the garam marsala, apricots, almonds, escarole!Mmmm!) or Chickpeas with Broccoli Rabe & Vegan Bacon..MMM..be careful you could find yourself eating the whole wok full ;)
    or if its a great go-to for guests coming over or heading to a potluck, Creamy Easy Vegan Artichoke Dip Yum :D

    • Yum, Yum and triple Yum. I need to try all three! Thanks for the ideas, I love them. And yes, the muffins were mmmmm…. pulling another batch out of the oven right now- or really in a second, the timer is going off now. :)

    • Why thank you! I just checked yours out and now I want to go eat in Tokyo- in the mean time I need to find out if any place in Utah makes yuba!

  3. Anything mexican based or that can be thrown into a tortilla – we always have some type of rice, quinoa or pasta on hand- throw in some sauteed veggies and we are good to go!

    I hear you, at times it can be tough going out, cookouts and so on being a vegan – I mak sure that I always arm myself with a dish to share when going to Dinner or a BBQ at friends houses – I am lucky my family is very open to the lifestyle – I have my aunts making vegan dips, salads, entrees anytime we are over – the longer you live this way of life the more peopel will be open and curious start asking questions and be proud…..and the dining out we have a few “go to” places but travelling for work it can be challenging – I have learned not to be afraid to build your own dish using :”safe items” from the menu – 9 times out of 10 it turns out okay :)

    High fice for sticking it out and enjoying this new way of eating!

    • Haha, I have thought before that if they measured ethnicity by what we ate, I would be from Mexico. Thanks for the encouragement- it was one of those testing weeks, hopefully stronger for it! I had a great experience Sunday where a friend had brought candy bars as a treat but she thought to bring me a juicy orange. The best orange I have ever had, not just for the juicy flavor but because of the love and thoughtfulness that came with it. :)

  4. You = superstar. I can’t imagine being vegan and my wife not backing me. And kids!! I wan to be you when i grow-up. The bean dip looks awesome, and, to be honest, I might serve it separately and make people put it together themselves.

    My wife and I have taken to bringing stuff with us and when i get “the look,” I smile, and ignore it. If people want to think I’m weird, that’s their problem. They can go on a million medications, and I’ll just keep eating!

    Keep up the good work!

    • Aw shucks. Make me blush. We have served it before separate- especially great if you get fun different colorful dishes to put them in. I am definitely learning to keep a well stocked purse. And hooray for med free health!

  5. I don’t know how I missed commenting on this recipe before, but I LOVE IT. Nearly as much as I love you…. Xoxo!

Leave a Reply

