When Craving Meets Creativity- the Chocolate Mousse Berry Tartlet

Introducing: the Chocolate Mousse Berry Tartlet

Today I wanted a treat.  Something different.  Fun.  Chocolate.  Satisfying.

The hunt began.  I perused the vegan cookbooks, turning straight to the dessert section only to find myself disappointed with my options.  I didn’t want carrot cake.  Or bean cookies.  And why are so many desserts made with beans?!?  I was feeling disgruntled- beans and baking are a new concept to me, the shell-shocked vegan (still just shy of 7 weeks in, so much to learn!)

Then I found it.  The recipe that made me smile with delight.  New hope took over and cooking began.  Out came the food processor.  Out came the ingredients for the mousse.  Then the crust.  And I thought:  “Why is this going so smoothly?  It is far too easy to be a good vegan dessert.  It will be a flop.  Or worse, a double flop.”

In rolls the realization that my bananas, the ones that refuse to ever be anything but green, were not just hard and impossible to peel but also an important ingredient on the list.  Then comes creativity- a berry sauce.  And from the Engine 2 Diet Icebox cake comes the Chocolate Mousse Berry Tartlet.

My cute babysitter, who is a great sport and very brave to try new things in the kitchen, ate hers happily.  Her comment:  “Thank you for not telling me it was tofu until after I ate it!”  Funny the prejudices we develop- now she knows- she ate tofu, AND SHE LIVED.

My husband ate his first spoonful and gleefully said, “Mmmmm.”  Once again, I broke the news that it was made with tofu.  His reply, “It’s nice to know that things can taste so good and be made with healthy ingredients.”  Say what?  Did that really just come out of his mouth?

So there you have it- this tasty treat is non-vegan approved.

Twice.

Sweet.

Literally.


Chocolate Mousse

(Courtesy of Engine 2 Diet)

1 pkg tofu
2 Tbl cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 c maple syrup

Blend all ingredients until smooth.  Refrigerate until chilled.

Crust

1 c dates
1/2 c almonds
1/2 c walnuts
1 tsp vanilla

Blend in food processor.  Refrigerate.  Flatten on a dish.  Use a round cookie cutter (or a random plastic thing found in the kitchen drawer if you have no clue where the cookie cutters went like me) to cut out circles.   Pipe mousse onto circles.  Add sauce- see below:

Berry Sauce- Option 1 (not pictured but it was yummy)

1-2 cups frozen mixed berries- blackberries, blueberries and raspberries
Agave nectar to taste
Pumpkin pie seasoning to taste

Heat ingredients in small saucepan over medium until heated through.  Scoop/pour onto plate (not directly onto mousse as it will melt.

Berry Sauce- Option 2 (shown)

1 c. fresh raspberries

Puree raspberries.  Drizzle over tartlets.  Add whole berries as garnish.  I didn’t add sweetener this round and they were just perfect.

21 thoughts on “When Craving Meets Creativity- the Chocolate Mousse Berry Tartlet

    • Oh-so-delicious. It was a hit all around, for the grown-ups at least. It never did make it down the ranks of kiddos. We’ll need to do another batch for them, I don’t think they’ll protest. ;)

  1. Yay! I need to try that mousse, It looks easier than the last one I made! I think you are handling veganism pretty rockingly dude!

    Oh, and I hate the bountiful basket bananas that NEVER EVER ripen and if you can manage to peel them, they are a bitter chalky mess. Such a waste.

  2. Thanks for sharing this with me! It was awesome! And who knew, but it was an early birthday treat! And it’s totally vegan approved, too. I realized after leaving yesterday that I was being bossy, so sorry. Just shut me up next time. I think you’re marvelous.

  3. Did you use a vacuum packed or refrigerated water packed tofu? I am making this TODAY!! Yay for a healthy mousse!!

  4. Pingback: Berry Banana Mousse Tartlet « The Heebavore

  5. I am going to try this mousse today. I have been trying to find a good pudding that Andrew likes. I made Chef AJ’s chocolate avocado pudding for him. It looked silky and delicious he would take a few bites and stop and say “it looks so good, but it doesn’t taste good, but it looks so good I keep thinking it has to taste good.” It was funny and sad.

Leave a Reply

