All Things Apricot

Canning season began with a bang this year in our kitchen, the inaugural day including apricot picking at my neighbor’s home, followed by apricot butter, two jams and dehydration. Since I can’t do things like canning with the kids home for summer with much efficiency, the process began at 9pm and didn’t end until 3am!  Needless to say, I’m awfully tired today- please excuse any typos or random nonsensical rambling. I’ll try to stick to the point: yummy apricot recipes.

Round 1:  Cinna-Vanilla Apricot Butter

Have you made fruit butter yet?  If not, you’re missing out on one of simple joys of canning.  We’ve done apple, pear and now apricot butter.  We eat it spread on toast, in peanut butter sandwiches, mixed in oatmeal, with yogurt and over ice cream.  There aren’t a ton of ingredients and I use minimal sweetener, making it a healthy sweet.

Cinna-Vanilla Apricot Butter

Ingredients:

Apricots- about 10 lbs worth.  Wash, peel and take out pit.
Sweetener- Agave, maple or honey to taste.  1/2 to 3/4 c for apricots.  (I use a lot less for apples and pears.)
1 Tbl. Cinnamon
1 Vanilla Bean, see this tutorial for a great explanation on how to cook with a vanilla bean

Put apricots into a crockpot and cook on low for 8-10 hours.  Use an immersion blender to puree the cooked fruit until it is a smooth consistency.  (Or put into a blender, but that is just messy.  It’s worth getting the immersion blender, trust me.)  If it is still watery, leave the lid propped open a tiny bit to let moisture seep out for a bit.  Or add water if it is getting too thick.  Add sweetener and seasonings.  Let it simmer for another hour so the flavors blend in.

Process in a boiling waterbath canner for 20 minutes.  Add an extra minute for every 1000 ft about sea level.

If you are new to canning, Ball has great details on the how-to’s of preservation and some great recipes as well.  If you don’t want to can it, the apricot butter will keep well in the freezer for months or in the refrigerator for 3 weeks.

Round 2: Dehydration.  Super simple, just takes a while.

Wash and halve apricots, remove pit.  Lay down on trays.  Turn on dehydrator.  Rough stuff!  Apricots make yummy fruit leather too if you have liners for your dehydrator trays.  Just puree fruit, add sweetener if you like and dehydrate.


Round 3: Apricot Jam

I made two variations.  The first was just the basic recipe in the Pamona’s Pectin box, using apple juice as the sweetener.  It was alright but nothing too special.  The second so much fun, a great savory twist on the standard-

Rosemary Apricot Jam!

To make, just follow the directions on the Pamona’s Pectin Box, or find it at their website.  You could use other pectin brands too of course.  When all ingredients are in your pot heating up to a boil, add 3 Tbl chopped fresh rosemary.  That’s it!  What a difference it made, a lovely new flavor combination for a fruit I am just beginning to love.

23 thoughts on “All Things Apricot

    • They are my new love, I can’t count how many I have eaten in the last few days. I feel like I have missed out all my life!

  1. Dude, your canning skillz blow me away. Apricot butter and the rosemary jam look absolutely incredible. Some day when our kids are all in school, you are gonna teach me everything you know! Xoxo

      • yeah, are you gone? Did we miss out on apricots due to the absolute insanity of living? We’re unplanned for the whole week, but I know you’re leaving soon. It’s sad to be back to the real world again after a full birthday weekend.

      • One round of crazy done, next adventure begins tomorrow. We were hit by the coolest thunderstorm ever- I weathered it in the tent! I know, not the safest place, but it hit so fast and it was directly over us so I figured running through the field to a more solid structure wouldn’t exactly be the best idea either. It rained hard, then harder, then even harder and when I thought it wasn’t possible for the heavens to come down any more powerfully- it hailed. So very wet.

    • Or you can just raid your neighbors yard like I did. ;) we have a couple apple trees but I am wishing for a few more, planting is in the plans for next spring!

  2. WOW so easy to make fruit butters, they always looked so intimidating – I love that you cook it in a crockpot versus on the stove – so easy! I love canning and typically do up applesauce in the fall, apple butter is totally on the agenda this year too!

Leave a Reply

