Mom’s Quinoa on the Beach, a Fishwich, and Airport Fabulousness

Holy guacamole- it’s Monday!  I am sitting in the Dallas airport with 3 wiggly kiddos, realizing that today is not Wednesday, or Thursday, or another blurry day of vacation, it’s MONDAY.  (I know, shocking news for everyone, please excuse my frazzled mom-brain.)  Monday is significant in my little world because Monday is the day I am supposed to blog.  So technically, I still have 5 more hours TX time and I’m in the clear, right?

That said, we have to board in 30 minutes, so I will…..

Nope- lost connection.  It is now 12am in UT and we arrived home safely, my contacts are glued to my eyeballs, I think I am slurring my speech but I WILL POST.  Something about not being reliable through my younger years has made me a bit more more adamant about follow through as I get more wrinkles.

Up first, lunch on the beach.  Can I say how awesome all of my family is?  Everyone we went to visit went out of their way to repeatedly provide vegan options- I love my family!

This day was absolutely beautiful.  We went to the sandy beaches in Ludington, MI where the water was crystal clear, the sand was baby soft.  The night before, Mom cooked up this batch of quinoa which was great round one, even better day two as a quick and easy picnic meal.

Mom’s Rice Cooker Cinnamon Quinoa

2 c quinoa
5 c water (1 extra c. due to rice cooker usage)
1/4-1/2 c. slivered almonds (or nuts or your choice- pecans?  mmm)
1/2-3/4 c. dried cherries
2 tsp. cinnamon

Put all ingredients into rice cooker on brown rice setting and wait for the blinky “done” light.  Top with fresh blueberries picked at the patch and eat on the beach and enjoy pure bliss.  Not to worry, it’s still tasty at home in the kitchen!

The FishWich

 

Ok seriously, how cool is this?  Talk about a lunch that leaves you smiling.  Sure the bread was semi-tasteless and styrofoamy, but it was a FISH.  Totally worth it.  This sandwich was veggie cream cheese, chives and assorted veggies.  And can’t for get the MommaChia- a new favorite beverage indulgence.  I am still working on the perfect ratio of chia seed to liquid for a home made momma chia, I’ll keep you posted on that one.

The Airport

We had quite a layover in Dallas/Ft.Worth and walked to find a food court area and a meal.  I was a bit wary of my options and assumed I may be eating a baked potato with ketchup and side salad at Wendy’s if nothing else came up.  Well, something did!  Au Bon Pain.  They had two vegan soup options, a lentil curry and a tuscan white bean, and a couple sandwiches as well.  I chose the Mediterranian Wrap (roasted red pepper hummus, kalamata olives, cucumber, greens, tomato, sun-dried tomato and I subbed the feta cheese for fresh avocado, all on a ww tortilla.)  So amazing!  Too good to eat in an airport food court.

To top off the positive experience, the general manager was super nice and had just made the vegan switch last September!  We got to visit for a sec before my daughter ran off and he told me about a vegan cruise (no way!?!) that is one week in Jamaica and Mexico where all the food is vegan and there are cooking classes and all sorts of awesomeness.  [Insert angel chorus here]  Really wish I could have caught more details on that one, not that I have the time or resources to pull that off at this phase of life.  One day….

So I mentioned the food court.  Funny thing, it was a great lesson on food choices.  To my right was this:

I will leave to you to notice the obvious.  And to the left was this:

Not only were the customers half the size but the line was longer and much happier.  Hooray for health!  (I know, I am a nerd.  It’s been said, now deal with it.)

After 2 weeks on the road, my bed is calling me.  Over and out.

13 thoughts on “Mom’s Quinoa on the Beach, a Fishwich, and Airport Fabulousness

  1. Love it. I will check out that wrap next time at the train station. Clearly serious yummol. Thanks for sharing all that vegan positivity…nothing wrong with showing it like it is!

  2. So glad your family was accommodating, and that you are back and that you survived vegan travel. You are turning into a vegan rock star!

      • If I find one out garage sale-ing I will pick it up. I never thought of using a rice cooker for other grains- it’s a rice cooker! So many new horizons…

      • For reals! I love the texture of rice cooker rice. Stove-top brown rice is bleh. You can bake it in the oven, but then it heats up the whole dang house….

      • Rice cookers are happy things for people like me who consistently ruin rice. Matt bought it as a hint. Now we have rice a lot more frequently and i’m a lot less frustrated.

Leave a Reply

