Vegan No Bake Blueberry Maple Cashew Cheezecake

It’s Tasty Tuesday, what does “hope” mean to you?

I’ve been passed a blogging relay baton by my sweet friend Kristy at Keepin’ it Kind. Hope is something I struggle with at times, you can hope to be healthier, hope to be stronger and hope to be a better person but those things can’t happen unless you act. So for me hope is a seed that grows until it leads to action.

Here are things that have given me hope to act lately:

The Olympics! I know, cliche, but isn’t it amazing to see what people overcome to get there? I like cheering for the underdogs, like double amputee Oscar Pistorius. I’ve resumed my running routine this week, because even though a break is good now and again, I have two able legs and should use them. Plus I have the bestest running buddy in the world to help give me hope and motivate me. Irresistible right?!?

My blogging family here online that gives  me so much support and hope for the future of a healthier generation. I act as part of that group, hopefully sharing something that can help another even if its simply to EAT MORE PLANTS.

Those of my religion give me hope for humanity as I watch them give selfless acts of service to others on a daily basis. Witnessing these acts and trying to give of myself in a similar way helps me to be more at peace with myself.

Lastly, choosing (an act) a plant-based diet gives me hope that I will live to a ripe old age without succumbing to heart disease, cancer, diabetes or a myriad of other ailments. In the meantime, I will enjoy a small slice of this simply amazing vegan, gluten-free cheezecake.

Blueberry Maple Cashew Cheezecake

For the crust:

1 C. dates

1 C. almonds

For the filling:

2 C. raw cashews, ground

1/2 – 1 C. pure maple syrup (depending on your sweet-o-meter)

1 t. sea salt

1/3 C. fresh lemon juice + zest from one lemon

2.5  C. water, divided

1/2  package Pamona’s Pectin, method below (do not use another brand of pectin or your cheezecake won’t set)

1 T. vanilla

6 oz fresh blueberries

Method: First make the crust by combining almonds and dates in food processor until fine. If dates are too dry and the mixture is crumbly, add a tablespoon or two of water and pulse until mixture starts to form a ball. Press crust into a lightly oiled 12 inch springform pan. Next make the cheezecake filling: Grind 2 C. cashews until fine in a power blender. Add 2 C. Boiling water, lemon juice, lemon zest, salt and pure maple syrup, I used half a cup of the pure maple syrup and thought it was plenty, but my husband said the recipe could have been improved by more sweetness, hence the pick your own sweetness above. Blend until smooth and creamy. Mix all of the small calcium packet from pectin box with the remaining 1/2 C. Water. Add half of the large pectin packet (about 4.5 teaspoons) and 1/4 C. of the calcium water to the blender and pulse until all thoroughly combined. Store remaining calcium water in the fridge and keep the pectin packet in your pantry and use for jam making or another cheezecake. Stir in blueberries by hand, being careful not to break any. Pour cashew cheezecake batter into the springform pan. Refrigerate uncovered for 5-6 hours or overnight before slicing and serving. Makes 16 servings.

Time to pass the baton to these very worthy bloggers and give you the reasons they inspire hope in me:

The Vegan’s Husband for awesomest new vegan on the blogging scene

Lucy at Lucy’s Friendly Foods for her incredible plant based culinary delights

Thom at Don’t Switch off the Light for his big vegan heart and compassion towards all living creatures, including spiders.

Big or Little Sis at My Sister’s Pantry for helping me to constantly and frugally reinvent myself in the kitchen, Even helping me to be more creative with my leftovers.

Heidi at Lightly Crunchy for helping me to be more, well, crunchy! Love her!

TTFN!

Update: For an insane Chocolate Version of this recipe, please visit this post

Photo Courtesy of Annie at An Unrefined Vegan

78 thoughts on “Vegan No Bake Blueberry Maple Cashew Cheezecake

  1. I’ve just recently been experimenting with vegan dishes, mainly cooking for friends who are vegan. I’m amazed at the versatility of cashews. What a great discovery! I’ve made vegan enchiladas with a cilantro-lime cashew crema and vegan chipotle brownies with a cinnamon-vanilla cashew frosting. I can’t wait to try this cashew cheesecake recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  2. That dessert right there could very well win over my meat-eating heart. I came over to take a look at how on earth you could possibly make cheesecake vegan, and found myself with a baton (if you’ve ever seen me run, that would almost be funny). I run like Elaine from Seinfeld dances. Anyway, amazing looking cheesecake and I will be thinking of something to post about Hope soon.

    • It was pretty divine!

      I really REALLY would love to see you run now! If it makes you feel any better I got analyzed at a local running company and the OWNER of the company said I’m the worst pronator he has EVER seen and wanted to put me in some sort of stability shoes designed for really overweight people. My left leg goes back and forth like it ought to, but my right leg swings around in circles. Not very biomechanically efficient, but hey, it doesn’t stop me!

      Oh and sorry about the hope relay baton, please don’t put too much into it, it’s kind of a strange thing asking other bloggers to do something on their blog. I’m not always all for it, but thought you might give this one “the right touch” ;)

  3. This is truly exciting. I bought some Pomona’s before we went out of town to make the melty cashew cheese and now I have an even better reason to get it out of the box. This sounds and looks so incredible. And to get the recipe from such a hopeful and helpful person? An extra blessing. Thanks Somer!

    • Yay! And it’s gluten free to boot so you can serve it with reckless abandon to your hubby!

      Thanks!

      Oh and a word about the cashew cheez, the longer you leave it uncovered in your fridge, the firmer it will get, which is a good thing, especially if you want to grate it. Overnight is really best….

  4. Oh YUM Somer! I love the addition of the whole blueberries into the cake! I’ve never seen that before- so creative!

    Lovely post too- I agree that eating plant-based gives me great hope for the future! For myself, my loved ones and animals. The more I see veganism/plant-based eating grow, the more I believe in the kindness of the human spirit.

    P.S. I was reading yours and Annie’s little convo there and it made me giggle- I’m totally aboard the salad train- need to get back in line lol

    • Thanks so much Gabby! Your keylime amazingness today was pretty awesome too!

      I think Annie and I are going to elope, that’s the real reason she’s in Utah ;) Teehee.

  5. This looks so wonderful- it has been far too long since I’ve had cheesecake!

    And I love your thoughts on hope- you are so right. Hope is nothing until you take action. Such a great reminder. :-)

    P.S. I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling up to running again. Yay!

    • It was a natural evolution with cashew cheez, it had to happen!

      Thanks for passing the baton, It’s good to get all reflective once in a while.

      Running again in the a.m. WOOT!

  6. looks very delicious as always. Bookmark this one and make it on the weekend if I can find some pectin. Thanks for the post :) and keeping on blogging please…

  7. Your cashew cheezecake looks tremendously tasty! I only used soaked & drained cashews in my vegan cheesecakes ! I am so going to try it soon! Looks awesome!

  8. So let’s discuss you’re awesomeness:
    1. You know you have the 2nd most comments on my blog? (After me, naturally)
    2. You keep giving me more ideas to write about than I can keep up with.
    3. You were my 2nd follower, and my 1st follower to comment.
    4. You’re sending me free soap!
    5. You called me awesome. Awwww. . .

    My wife and I are trying to incorporate more raw food, mostly in the form of desserts admittedly, and I think the conversion from maple-blueberry to maple-chocolate will be an easy one.

    You=superstar.

    • Accepted: now time to counter
      1- You are also on the top commenter list on this blog as in #6, but that includes all the ladies on this blog. Only the refined vegan chick beats you, which is okay since she and I are kinda like besties.
      2- You can totally manage it, um until school starts….
      3- Radical
      4- You won the contest fair and square.
      5- It’s pretty much true
      ADD
      6- We were talking about converting blueberry to chocolate cheezecake last night. I think it has to be swirled. I won’t be offended if you post it first!

      You=RADICAL.

      p.s. put me on your dang blogroll!

  9. What a great post Somer! I love your definitions of hope:) I agree, I find that the stories of these olympic athletes really pull at my heartstrings:) and ok, can we just talk about your cheezecake?!?! oh my gosh, girl! that is AMAZING!!!! i am totally going to have to try and make this. it looks absolutely superb! Have a great day!

  10. A fabulous running buddy is THE best!!! I would not know what I would do without my buddy joining me at 6 in the morning for a run :-) You are so right, these healthy legs are made for running – we have to use them and be grateful we can!
    Yum, your cake looks so delicious – I want to make it NOW!

    • Thanks Anne!

      Erika and I live a bit apart so we don’t run together as often as we’d like :/

      I do have a trusty canine companion that keeps me company and pulls me up the hills when I get tired :)

  11. Pingback: Hope and Ice Cream « The Vegan's Husband

  12. Pingback: Other People’s Food (6): Life is Sweet « anunrefinedvegan

  13. Pingback: (Eating Vegan) Under the Sheltering Sky « anunrefinedvegan

  14. Pingback: One for the Road. Vegan Mini Chocolate Cashew Cheezcakes « Good Clean Food

  15. Pingback: Hope Relay-Breaking the Mold « The Cruelty-Free Review

  16. Pingback: Raw Veganism Ideal Health & Pleasant World With The Power Of Live Food | 7Wins.eu

Leave a Reply

