Getting My Green On

I’m generally a green person.  I recycle.  I’m happier in thrift store bargains than expensive store bought clothing.  I like to play outside.  And I’d rather be on foot or bike than in a car, though I am often limited on this one due to 3 kids in tow.

But alkaline- golly gee (been watching Leave it to Beaver lately.)

Talk about taking green to a whole new level!   I still have a ways to go, my steady pH has moved up from 5.5 to 6.2, and there are times in the day where I have hit 7.8.  The goal:  7.2.  The method:  as follows.

1) Wheatgrass.  Wheatgrass.  Wheatgrass.  To the point that when I drive up to Jamba Juice, my stomach rolls.

Since buying wheatgrass is so costly by the shot, I am working to master the art of growing healthy wheatgrass.  Unfortunately I have had a bit of a black thumb in this endeavor so far with round one growing only a blade of grass per square inch and round two developing major mold growth.  Round three is going beautifully and I am hoping to have it ready to use in just under a week.

Two youtube videos helped me understand the process a little better, both using very different methods.  My right brain connected with this video by a sweet gal who keeps it simple.  My left brain enjoyed the science behind this man’s methods- he’s not messing around.

Putting in an order for a wheatgrass juicer today.  After some research I have decided to go with the Lexen Manual Juicer.  It is cost effective and gets great reviews saying it is easy to clean and space efficient.  I especially like that I won’t have to worry about silver paint chipping off into my juice!

2)  Raw Green Super Food

Oh man, this stuff is disgusting.  I would rather choke it down straight with water than ruin my lovely smoothies with it.  But it works.  It’s green.  And I need it.  Better than being put on migraine medicine anyday!

3)  Green Smoothies, Juices and Salads!

My favorite part.  Getting in your greens can be delicious too!  I’ve been making all kinds of new salad dressings to keep things interesting.  Yesterday’s dressing was made with fresh grapefruit juice and lime juice.  Mmmmm…..  I’ve been hitting up a bunch of raw cookbooks too, hoping to start making raw crackers and snacks for on the go.  I have enjoyed Matthew Kenney’s book “Everyday Raw” so far and can’t wait to get my copies of these two in the mail:

“Practically Raw: Flexible Raw Recipes Anyone Can Make” by Amber Shea Crawley

“Raw Energy: 124 Raw Food Recipes for Energy Bars, Smoothies, and Other Snacks to Supercharge Your Body”
by Stephanie Tourles


4)  Staying away from junk and keeping active.

While eating my greens is wonderful for my health, it won’t do any good if I eat processed foods, sugars and other foods that are acidic and are self-defeating in the attempt to get alkaline.  And I can’t say enough about staying active.  A good workout actually helps flush the acids out of a body!  A win win I think, providing better fitness, stronger body, clearer mind, and more energy.

Such is my life.  Call me a Grinch.  The Hulk.  Frankenstein.  Oscar.  Kermit.  What have you.  It’s not easy being green, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

15 thoughts on “Getting My Green On

  1. You will really, really like Amber’s book. I met her at Vida Vegan in August ’11 – she really is a nice lady!
    Matthew’s stuff is good to, I have an ipad app I need to review of his – it is videos.

  2. I found wheatgrass in frozen form in my natural food store–not too pricey and the cubes are great in smoothies (and don’t make them taste weird!). I’m curious to see how your next batch of growing goes—a good idea!

    • What a great idea! I’ll keep ice cube trays in mind if we ever have to do a big harvest. Seeds are sprouted and I’m transferring them to the soil tray tonight, should have it up and going be the next post. :)

  3. Pingback: Carrots, as you’ve never had them before (unless…) « Good Clean Food

  4. Wheatgrass juice – better than the best champagne as far as I’m concerned. I love green juices, green smoothies, and I even put spirulina in my porridge oats. Yay for you going green – you won’t look back. Good luck with it xx

Leave a Reply

