VVP: Cranberry Maple Compote

It’s that time again, bring on the VVP!
Who’s coming to the table:  The bright and beautiful cranberry.

Through the years, cranberry sauce has gotten a pretty bad wrap.  Give thanks to the trusty can o’ cran that plops out a gelatinous cylinder of cranberry goo with a nice, big “schluup.”  Great entertainment, but just not appetizing.

A couple years ago I discovered this little recipe.  No, big recipe.  It is chock full of goodness!  Made with fresh cranberries, pecans, fresh and dried fruit and the fabulous fall flavors cinnamon and nutmeg.  One taste and I was in love.

The only problem with the recipe is the large amount of sugar, especially being on an alkaline vegan diet.  So this year the cranberry compote recipe has gotten a facelift.  Welcome maple.

Cranberry Maple Compote

12 oz fresh cranberries
1 orange, peeled and pureed in the blender
1 apple, peeled and diced
1 pear, peeled and diced
1 c water
1 c chopped dried fruit (mix it up and have fun!  we love dried pineapple, cherry, cranberry if you’re sticking with the theme, I think a little crystallized ginger could be good for an added kick)
1 c chopped pecans
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
maple syrup, to taste (I used 1/4 cup but my sweetness sensor is pretty low these days.  You could add anywhere from 1/4-3/4 c maple)

Bring water to a boil.  Reduce heat to simmer and add all other ingredients.  Cover and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Cook until the cranberries burst.  Remove from heat and let cool.

I made a double batch this time around, measured it into 1 1/2 c portions, and stored it in the freezer.  Great to pull out for the holidays.

Some other ways to use your super delish cranberry sauce:

Eat it with a spoon!
Make a parfait with your favorite plain yogurt and granola
Layer on top of crackers and vegan cream cheese for finger foods
PB+Cranberry Sandwich?  Potential…
I’m thinking a ginger graham cracker crust with vanilla bean vegan ice cream topped with cranberry sauce.  Mmmmmm.
Mix in your morning oatmeal
Use as a topping for pancakes or filling for crepes
A tart spread for a savory sandwich

So there you have it.  Cranberry Maple Compote.  Love it.

Go Back

The previous VVP dish is found in Kelli’s Vegan Kitchen here:
http://kellisvegankitchen.com/

Go Forward
Cook to Love is the blog next in the potluck.  Visit it here:
http://cooktolove.com/

43 thoughts on “VVP: Cranberry Maple Compote

  1. I commented on this last night right before an internet black out, what I wanted to say was that my cranberry sauce is totally gelatinous and I could learn a thing or two from you. Ginger! Heck yes! I love this with all the dried fruit and the addition of nuts is stellar!!! xx

  2. Pingback: Carrots and Figs with Toasted Walnut-Thyme Gremolata | cook to love

  3. As a kid I was in love with the “schluup” cranberries, and then for Thanksgiving 2 years ago, the Blonde made a cranberry-topped chocolate torte, and my life hasn’t been the same. Now when the weather turns, and leaves change, I start craving real cranberries. And now I have to force her to make this. You’re so inconvenient! ;)

    • Haha. I’m pretty good at inconvenient. The “schluup” has provided some seriously good times, don’t get me wrong. I always wanted to be the “schlupper” and pined for the opportunity to create that satisfying sound. Let me know how this recipe goes for ya- does it live up to your expectations? ;)

  4. That looks so mouth-watering… I love adding orange and pecans to cranberry sauce, but I never thought of adding apple or pear. I’m definitely bookmarking this recipe! : )

  5. I usually only make cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving. Silly me!!! Thank you for all your suggestions of how to use it and all of the additions to the sauce. The whole orange sounds yummy.

  6. Pingback: November Healthy Cravings Recap: A Thanksgiving Feast « My Plant Based Family

  7. Pingback: Vedged Out Thanksgiving Menu | Vedged Out

  8. Pingback: VVP: Twice-Baked Russet & Sweet Potatoes with Spicy Tomato Jam | Kelli's Vegan Kitchen

Leave a Reply

