Green Chunky Cookies – Zucchini Choclate Chip Cookies

That is so not an appealing title, but that is how my husband referred to these soft, almost cakey, chocolate chip cookies today. They are delicious and a quick way to use up some summer squash, not just zucchini. I like the honey addition, and the butter is reduced enough that they almost seem to be less heavy than most chocolate chip cookies, which is nice in the summer when sweet is good but heavy is bad.

Thanks to Barbara Kingsolver’s book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle for the recipe. Kingsolver is right when she calls it Zucchini larceny. You could use “technique” (creaming, adding in the appropriate order and what not) to make these, but I just blended them and they were delicious. And, like any good quasi-epicurean, I modified it only a bit – added the oatmeal and increased the salt. Seriously, cookies without enough salt are sad.

ZUCCHINI CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
(Makes about two dozen)
1 egg, beaten
½ cup butter, softened
½ cup brown sugar
1/3 cup honey
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
Combine in large bowl.
1 cup white flour (I just used two cups King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat Flour)
1 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup quick oats
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
Combine in a separate, small bowl and blend into liquid mixture
1 cup finely shredded zucchini
12 oz chocolate chips
Stir these into other ingredients, mix well. Drop by spoonful onto greased baking sheet, and flatten with the back of a spoon. Bake at 350°, 10 to 15 minutes. (12 in my oven)

2 thoughts on “Green Chunky Cookies – Zucchini Choclate Chip Cookies

  1. I’m jealous . . . my two squash plants are still less than 12″ – one is a winter squash (Festival Hybrid) and the other is a mystery start from Freecycle (somebody’s compost started growing things). I guess that’s what we get for starting our garden in mid- to late-June. One of these days (maybe next year), we’ll be there, getting to eat locally without having to go to the Farmer’s Market (can be tricky depending on the size of the stroller I’m pushing – I skipped it when I was pushing the double wide bike-trailer-stroller last week).

  2. Hope your having a great vacation. I’ve been thinking about gardens – mine’s about 2-6 inches tall in most places. We’re hoping for September and October harvests. I have to ask, what’s your favorite garden vegetables to have planted, grown and eaten?

    I just finished listening to “Animal Vegetable Miracle” again, so have been thinking about next year, and this fall/winter gardens already. We don’t have any zucchini growing this year (I don’t think – I still have one mystery squash that’s slow to identify itself).

Leave a Reply

