Baked Brown Rice

Jen here again.  I just finished throwing this in the oven after church today and thought I’d share.  Around two years ago, I found 28-ounce bags of long grain brown rice on sale for a $1 a bag.  I bought a lot and I’ve been storing them in the freezer to maintain freshness longer (brown rice can get rancid if left out).

I know we need to eat more brown rice since it’s full of more good stuff than white rice.  But, it’s harder to cook – I can’t get it to turn out well in the rice cooker or on the stove top (burned bottoms and raw tops).  But, I found an excellent recipe on Recipezaar that comes from Alton Brown.  I always double the recipe so we can have some on hand.  (I’ll put the doubled measurements in parentheses.)  I guess if I’m going to take the time to cook brown rice, I want something to show for my efforts.

Alton Brown’s Baked Brown Rice – 6 (12) servings

1-1/2 cups (3 cups) long grain brown rice
2-1/2 cups (5 cups) water
1 T (2 T) unsalted butter
1 t (2 t) salt

1.  Preheat the oven to 375F.

2.  Boil the water and add the butter and salt.  Stir to dissolve salt and melt butter.

3.  Place the rice in an 8″ (9″ x 13″) casserole dish.  Pour the boiling water mixture over the rice and stir.

4.  Cover with foil and bake on the middle rack for 1 hour.

5.  Fluff with fork and serve.

6.  This rice also refrigerates and reheats fairly well, but it’s best freshly made.

6 thoughts on “Baked Brown Rice

  1. It took me a long time to believe the truth about baked brown rice too. I’ve been hearing about it since about 2002. The hardest part is planning ahead, but you have to plan ahead with brown rice no matter what. Glad it worked for you.

  2. Pingback: Survey says . . . « Good Clean Food

  3. Pingback: For your Rice Leftovers « Good Clean Food

  4. Pingback: Crisis food « Alchemy in Alameda

  5. Pingback: Quick Creamy Pumpkin Soup « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

