Such a Weirdo, and I made cheese

At church on Sunday, I mentioned to a friend that I had made cheese. She thought it was pretty cool, but then again, she is Erika, one of the contributors to our site. Another friend was there and she isn’t so much into the rudimentary basics of food, like me. Which is totally normal – her, not me. She told me I was such a weirdo, and I acquiesced. BUT, nonetheless, I can now make cheese. At least mozzarella.
12-27_5870-1024x768
I first got the idea from my friend Charlene, who at the time, I thought was crazy for even thinking of making something as far out there as cheese. She wasn’t crazy, because then I read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (which I think everyone should read), and I I too thought I should make cheese. But that was nearly a year and a half ago, and I had a bunch of other stuff to learn first.
12-27_5873-1024x768
But finally, I got over it. And I was up for the challenge. Thank you honey for buying me cheese-making stuff which is so not as fun as a lot of other things you could have bought.
12-27_5879-1024x768
I apologize sort of for the pictures. My husband took most of them, and he’d rather take a picture of me, than take a picture of cheese, so he gets the dorky pictures I pose for and that’s all I have this time.
12-27_5881-1024x768
I made mozzarella last week and we put it on pizza. It was delicious, but I think it still needs a lot of practice. But anything worth doing, like cheese, should be practiced!
12-27_5886-1024x768
Maybe today I’ll do some more. Or maybe not. It is, after all, the beginning of a new year and we don’t want to set the standard too high.
12-27_5877-1024x768

5 thoughts on “Such a Weirdo, and I made cheese

  1. Of all the things out there in the world to practice, this one is definitely worth it. I’ve got the cheesemaking kit on my wishlist . . . we’re working our way through the list, so maybe we’ll get there later this year (especially if I get paid for babysitting). Enjoy! Are you going to try ricotta? I’ve got a great bacon/ricotta pasta dish that’s really easy and makes a ton. I’ll share if you’d like.

  2. Pingback: Mmm . . . this makes your house smell so good « Good Clean Food

  3. Pingback: Five minute pizza? From scratch? « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

