Recipe Roundup

Jen here.  I have cookbooks stacked on my little computer table.  I have links saved.  I  have a few photos and tasty memories . . . and it’s not doing me any good keeping it all in my head.  Instead of focusing on a single recipe in detail today, I thought I’d share several that I’ve tried and mostly enjoyed over the last few weeks.  If I get any requests, I’ll share the whole recipe.

From the “Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites” we tried the Banana Muffins (page 62) on New Year’s Eve.  My notes say that the recipe was time consuming (an issue when you’ve got kids) and that I should have used my baking spray (flour/oil) instead of muffin papers because the muffins stuck!  It was a fair recipe with oats and a whipped egg white to make it healthier and lighter, but I think I would find another recipe that was easier for my circumstances.  It used a large bowl, blender, another bowl, and mixer – along with with standard measuring and banana mashing tools.  A lot of washing up for 12 muffins.

Banana Muffins

Banana Muffins

I have another favorite cookbook, 1,000 Lowfat Recipes by Terry Blonder Golson.  My copy is in at least 4 pieces where the binding is broken.  Our very favorite Sloppy Joe recipe is from this book.  That’s another post.  I realized recently that sometimes it’s okay for me to cook lunch for just me – not worry about whether somebody else will like it (or can eat it – I’ve had to cut out most garlic due to intolerance issues).  So I made Shells with Broccoli and Chickpeas (page 290).  I enjoyed this one, but took no photos.  It’s a simple sauce that goes together quickly with canned chickpeas (garbonzos), canned tomatoes and fresh broccoli.  Clean up wasn’t too bad . . .but it did require a couple of cooking pans.  Sorry there aren’t any photos.  I enjoyed this for lunch for several days.

Another one I came across recently is a a recipe for Baked Pasta with Butternut Squash – a great way to use some of those winter squash you picked up and stored.  This one I found online, so I’ve linked the recipe for you.  I didn’t have the whole wheat pasta called for (Trader Joe’s has an excellent one), so we just used gemelli (little twisted pastas) and everybody ate some . . . always a good sign.  Clean up wasn’t too bad.  I peeled the butternut squash with a vegetable peeler, then sliced it, seeded it and roasted it per directions – next time I may try the microwave to speed things up.  I just used one whole squash without worrying about 3.5 servings, and toasted the walnuts while roasting the squash – watch the nuts closely, and only toast for 3-5 minutes.  They’ll burn otherwise.

We had a Popover flop for dinner last night.  I made the ones from the new issue of Wondertime magazine.  Easy!!!!  Easy clean up and easy to make.  I put the eggs and milk out to get to room temperature before I left to get my daughter from school.  They came together quickly.  I followed all of the instructions, using whole wheat flour in place of the regular flour, and melting the butter in the muffin tins.  They popped up all right, but they stuck to the muffin pans.  I still use metal pans – so I’m guessing if your pans are silicon the problem won’t be the same.  But, boy did they stick.  Once I scraped them out of the pans, we enjoyed them, and ate up all the pieces.  I’m on the hunt for a non-stick popover recipe.  Either that, or I’m going to have to revert back to my flour/oil baking spray that always saves the day.  Any advice would be welcome.  The soups in the same Wondertime article look excellent .

Popover pieces

Popover pieces

Popovers in the pan

Popovers in the pan

Lots of stuck bits

Lots of stuck bits

One last recipe review.  This one uses your food storage.  We had this one a couple of nights ago (our second time fixing it) and this time my DD6 declared it was her favorite dinner all week.  Cheeseburger Macaroni and Cheese (supposed to taste like a Mc Donald’s cheeseburger – but much better for you. The sauce base is made from “Magic Mix” which is made from powdered milk, flour and butter (scroll down from the Cheeseburger Macaroni recipe to learn how to make Magic Mix).  Crystal explains it all on her excellent website, EverydayFoodStorage.net.  I love knowing where all of my ingredients come from, especially in something so kid-friendly.

2 thoughts on “Recipe Roundup

  1. I like recipe round-up. I meant to ask for your ricotta pasta recipe and I would love the broccoli and shells recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Shells with Broccoli and Chickpeas « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

