What’s on your grocery list: Hummus (aka a great vegetable dip)

01-30_6784-1024x768
Some of you may be wondering what exactly hummus is. It is NOT humus , which is the result of well composted organic matter (see picture below). That is an entirely separate matter, but very applicable to this site. Just not here.
humus_hands1
Hummus is a delicious chickpea/garbanzo bean (they’re the same thing, it just depends on where you’re from) puree with delicious middle eastern flavors. We used to buy it at Costco because it was so much cheaper, but it was still sort of expensive ($6 or $7 for 16 – 24 ounces), and we’d usually forget about it and it would go bad before we could use it up.
01-30_6797-1024x768
Now I make my own, and I like it better. There is one initial expense that is probably equivalent to the cost of one tub of hummus, and that is tahini. Tahini is ground sesame seed paste, and it is sort of expensive and potentially difficult to find, but if I can find it here in Utah, anyone else anywhere else can. Check your Whole Foods/Good Earth/Sunflower type stores near the peanut butter. But don’t worry, it lasts a long time (like peanut butter) and you only need a quarter of a cup per recipe, so you won’t need to buy it very often (unless you REALLY like hummus, in which case making your own is probably a good idea anyway).
01-30_6764-1024x768
This would have been a useful recipe for yesterday (Superbowl Sunday), but three things intervened. First, I was sick this week. And last. And the one before. But I think I’m on the mend now. Second, Matt was out of town for a couple of days. It gets ugly around here when that happens. Third, we don’t follow football. AT ALL. As a result, we don’t make football food, and forgot about it until it was upon us. Suffice to say, I don’t dare mention what our meals looked like this week for fear of reproach by myself. It wasn’t pretty, but we’re coming through and the sun is shining.
01-30_6767-1024x768
Hummus is good with a lot of things. We use it to get ourselves to eat more vegetables and dip carrots, red peppers, cucumbers, and whatever else we might have around. Pita bread is also good, and if you want to mix it up, make a pita sandwich with hummus, veggies, and maybe a little feta, with a drizzle of good olive oil over the top.
01-30_6795-1024x768
I used canned chickpeas (bought in bulk at Costco), but you could absolutely use dried beans after you cook them, and we have just ordered some black garbanzo bean seed for that very purpose. I’ll post on seeds later. And a lot of this is flavor preference, so go with your own liking. I like more garlic, so I use two cloves, and most recipes omit cumin, but I really like the smokiness it gives it. Oh, and this whole thing should take about 5 minutes.
01-30_6771-1024x768

Hummus
Makes about 2 cups.

1 can (15.5 oz) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/4 c. water
1/4 c. tahini
1/4 c. olive oil
2 cloves garlic
1 t. kosher salt
1/8 to 1/4 t. ground cumin (to taste)
pinch to 1/8 t. cayenne (to taste)
3 T. fresh squeezed lemon juice

Place all ingredients in food processor and let it rip. After about 25 seconds stop it and scrape down the bowl, and turn it back on until it is a nice smooth consistency.

The garlic will get a bit stronger with time, and this doesn’t last incredibly long in the fridge, but you’ll probably eat it quickly if you have your veggies pre-cut (which I highly recommend).

4 thoughts on “What’s on your grocery list: Hummus (aka a great vegetable dip)

  1. I just finished an excellent tomato basil hummus from Trader Joes. My kids prefer crust and cheese-only pizza (no sauce; we did have olives last time, but I was eating the leftovers and Ian had picked off all the olive slices). I just added some of the tomato basil hummus and it made a very tasty, complex slice of pizza. I’ll have to research flavored hummus. Now, to figure out a food processor work-around. I suppose it’ll be okay in the blender, or in a bowl with the immersion blender, if necessary.

  2. Pingback: A Salad Sandwich on Seeded Bread « Good Clean Food

  3. Hi this is the recipe I used when I make hummus. I like to slight taste of garlic, lemon, cumin and cayenne pepper. I have tried a couple of recipes, but this one is he best one. Thanks for the post 🙂

    • you’re welcome! We go through hummus like water – the 2YO and 5YO can’t seem to get enough, and combined with busy mom needing food, we go through a lot. All the flavors are helpful it keeping it from getting too boring too fast!

Leave a Reply

