Easy dinner – slow cooker to the rescue with Salsa Chicken

02-05_6950-1024x768
I love a slow cooker for a billion reasons. Okay, maybe not that many because I’m not sure I’ve lived long enough to have a billion reasons for anything. But I like a slow cooker because it eliminates dinner stress. I hate thinking about dinner all day, and then come 4pm when my son is the most wild, trying to put it together. Then I get the “I have to work a little late” call and I start to fall apart.
02-05_6905-1024x768
Okay, not really. But it’s not as easy as putting something in the slow cooker during naptime and having the scent of deliciousness permeate the house for hours making me insatiably hungry until dinner time.
02-05_6915-1024x768
This chicken is the easiest thing on the planet, and I have been asked more times than I can count (clearly less than a billion) how I make it. It has five ingredients, one of which is salt. EASY!
02-05_6945-1024x768
We were lucky enough to make a lot of salsa this summer. It is chunky and yummy and I didn’t add enough salt so it is terrible for dipping chips in. So I pour it on chicken and make chicken tacos to die for. Yes, to die for. Okay. No death. I didn’t mean it.
02-05_6909-1024x768
This is so easy you’ll be mad you haven’t done it before. And you won’t even call it a recipe I don’t but too many people have asked for it that I am starting to accept it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

2 to 3 chicken breasts (depending on your family’s needs)
1 pint of salsa (or so, but make sure you have enough to cover the chicken)
1/2 to 1 t. cumin
juice of 1 lime
salt, to taste (taste your salsa and season accordingly. If your salsa is flat, add enough to season the salsa and chicken. If the salsa is salty enough, just enough to season the chicken)

Place chicken in slow cooker and everything else on top. I sort of stir in the lime juice and cumin. Look at the clock. If you need to eat in less than six hours, turn it to high for two hours or so, then turn it down to low. Or just leave it on high if it needs to be ready in four hours. If you’re really good, and you have more time than that, put it on low and let it rip all day.
02-05_6949-1024x768
When it is time to eat, shred the chicken with two forks and stir it all together. Mmm, so yummy! I usually eat several bites at this point. But for your family, serve on warmed tortillas with your favorite toppings, including slow-cooker beans (black or pinto are the norm, but not the final say, in our family). We like cheese, cabbage or lettuce, sour cream, avocado, corn, whatever we have on hand.
02-05_6951-1024x768
I promise you, if your family likes food like this (fake Mexican, tomatoes, etc), they will love you. And if they don’t, get better salsa.

One thought on “Easy dinner – slow cooker to the rescue with Salsa Chicken

  1. Looks good. Do you remember what salsa recipe you used last year? I’m trying to plan ahead . . . reading my one canning book “Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving” – there are too many choices. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a comment