Corned Beef anticipation

Jen here!  I’ve never cooked corned beef (at least that didn’t come in a can first – and that’s a completely different beast, only ever for Scoop Shovel Stew).  We never just plan ahead well enough to have it for St. Patrick’s Day.  But this year, we’ve already bought an “uncured corned beef round” from Trader Joe’s, along with a twin-pack of cabbage.  I’m sure we didn’t get the most cost effective option – (from what I understand, Amanda’s getting a brisket and corning her own this year), but we have it, so I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with it.

Amanda (who just spent a few wonderful days out in California and is probably hanging out at the Oakland Airport as I type) said she used the slow cooker last year.  So, I looked in my slow cooker books, and I did find a “corned beef and cabbage recipe” that looks pretty good.

My recipe is from “Taste of Home Slow Cooker Recipes 2007” – one of those annual magazines that Taste of Home puts out with reader submitted recipes.  I’m sure there are many other wonderful tried-and-tested corned beef options out there, and I would love to hear your suggestions.

Corned Beef and Cabbage (page 88)

cook time: 8 to 9 hours
Karen Waters from Laurel, Michigan
I first tried this fuss-free way to cook traditional corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day a few years ago.  Now it’s a regular  menu item.
1 medium onion, cut into wedges
4 medium potatoes, peeled and quartered
1 pound baby carrots
3 cups water
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 bay leaf
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 corned beef brisket with spice packet (2-1/2 to 3 pounds), cut in half
1 small head cabbage, cut into wedges

Place the onion, potatoes and carrots in a 5-quart clow cooker.  Combine water, garlic, bay leaf, sugar, vinegar, epper and contents of spice packet. [I’ll have to adapt here because my spices are just sealed loose in the package with the beef.] Pour over vegetables.  Top with brisket and cabbage.  Cover and cook on low for 8-9 hours or until meat and vegetables are tender.  Remove bay leaf before serving.

YIELD: 6-8 servings

I’ll let you know next week how things turn out.  And, I’m definitely open to feedback.  Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Corned Beef anticipation

  1. Pingback: trends watch

  2. Just in case anybody’s wondering – we did do this recipe yesterday. The corned beef was excellent. The kids didn’t really want to eat any of it – but it was a nice meal to come home to after a Costco shopping trip (gotta get those paper goods somewhere). The one thing I wanted to do and didn’t (because of being at Costco) was to roast a bunch of veggies.

    It turns out the spices that came with my corned beef included a large dried red pepper, and so between that and the peppercorns in the spices, the veggies were a bit too soggy and spicy. So we’re roasting the veggies (asparagus, potatoes, sweet potatoes, sweet peppers and sweet onions) tonight, and eating the leftover corned beef for dinner.

Leave a Reply

