Lemon Curd

This is just a brief post on how to make microwave lemon curd. I wish I had taken pictures, but I made it on one of those manic cooking/baking days and so the camera was kept far from my sight for the sake of safety. As it is, this page in my cookbook is smattered with sticky.

Lemon curd is one of those strange condiments that doesn’t know what to be … a jam or a pudding or a sauce? It never has decided, but it’s delicious nonetheless. I most recently put it on pancakes, but my sister puts in on bagels with cream cheese. I made mine with Meyer lemons, so it wasn’t as tart as it might be with regular lemons. I like it better with Meyer lemons.

This is a recipe my sister recommended from the book “The complete Book of Small-Batch Preserving.” This is at least the second recipe I’ve tried from this book since I got it two weeks ago, and both have been a success (imagine pineapple-orange rosemary freezer jam – it’s GOOD).

Microwave Lemon Curd
Be careful not to boil or overcook or it may separate. You can substitute limes, tangerines, oranges or unsweetened cranberry juice. See instructions below on how to can.

yield: 1 2/3 Cups

* 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (from 2 – 3 lemons)
* 1/4 cup unsalted butter
* 3/4 cup granulated sugar (I used evaporated cane juice and it worked great)
* 2 eggs

1. Finely grate thin outer rind of lemons. Squeeze lemons. Measure 1/2 cup lemon juice into a 4-cup microwavable container.
2. Stir in the rind, butter and sugar. Microwave, uncovered, on high (100%) for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes or until butter is melted and mixture is hot.
3. Beat eggs in a bowl. Gradually add hot lemon mixture to eggs, stirring constantly. Return mixture to the microwavable container and microwave, uncovered, on Medium (50%) for 1 to 2 minutes or until just thickened, stirring every 20 to 30 seconds. Do not allow to boil; the mixture will thicken as it cools. Let it cool.
4. Pour curd into a tightly sealed container. REFRIGERATE and use within 2 weeks, or freeze for longer storage.

One thought on “Lemon Curd

  1. Pingback: Ricotta Pancakes with Lemon Curd « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

