Ricotta Pancakes with Lemon Curd

img_4814-large
I made ricotta the other day for the sole purpose of making these pancakes. I slightly overcooked the ricotta, but I think that’s an okay thing to do if making pancakes with it. I made these once with fresh ricotta when I was in Massachusetts and we had access to raw whole milk. I didn’t have that this time, and I wish I had, because they were awesome the first go round. This time, eh, still really good.
img_4803-large
The recipe is from Bobby Flay from the Food Network, so it is by no means exclusively my own. Of course, like any good trumped up home cook, I had to modify it just because I could. Our recipe made 10 pancakes using my muffin/ice cream scoop.
img_4807-large
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Lemon Curd
Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 20 min
Ingredients
• 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 tablespoon baking powder
• 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• 2 tablespoons sugar
• 1 cup ricotta cheese
• 2 eggs
• 2/3 cup milk
• 1 lemon, zested and juiced (I used half a Meyer lemon, no zest, so my eaters could also just put maple syrup on without being overrun by lemon)
• Butter, for griddle
• Lemon Curd – buy a jar or make your own.
• Fresh berries, for garnish
• Confectioners’ sugar, for garnish
Directions
Preheat a nonstick griddle.
Combine flour, baking powder, nutmeg, salt, and sugar in a small bowl. Whisk together the cheese, eggs, milk, lemon juice and zest in a large bowl. Whisk the flour mixture into the wet ingredients until just combined. Brush the hot griddle with butter. For each pancake, pour approximately 1/4 cup measure of the batter on the griddle and cook on both sides until light golden brown. Repeat until no batter remains.
Drizzle a few tablespoons of the curd over the pancakes, top with fresh berries, and sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar.

5 thoughts on “Ricotta Pancakes with Lemon Curd

  1. Pingback: Lemon Curd « Good Clean Food

  2. These look great!! I would make them Saturday, but I’ll be in California. I’m going to make them a week from Saturday. I’ve never tried the lemon curd, but I’m going to. I too would like to learn how to make ricotta. Thanks for sharing all your good ideas with us.

Leave a Reply

