Amanda’s Cherry Conserves

I’d never had cherry conserves before this recipe.  Now, I’m in love.  I wish I had a picture of it’s beauty but the security guards at the airport gate confiscated it- apparently they are considered a liquid.  I just thought they were lovely and a nice gift for family.  Instead they graced the bottom of a dumpster.  So sad!

Our family did eat a couple pints first.  My favorite use was in plain, homemade yogurt.  It was also delicious on roast pork.

Black Cherry Conserve

 4 c. sweet cherries
2 Med navel oranges, peeled, seeded, and chopped (½ c. juice and pieces)
½ c. honey
½ c lemon juice
2 T grated orange zest
¾ t. ground cinnamon
6 whole cloves

 In a large enamel or stainless steel saucepan, combine the cherries, oranges, oney, lemon juice, rind and cinnamon. Put the cloves into a cheesecloth bag and add to the saucepan. Bring to a boil, then turn down and simmer for 20 minutes. Bring back to boil for 4 or 5 minutes, until thickened.

To can: Pour into hot scalded half-pint jars, leaving ¼ inch headspace. Seal and process for 15 (25 in Utah) minutes in a boiling water bath.

One thought on “Amanda’s Cherry Conserves

  1. Hmmm . . . I don’t think I noticed that recipe when I was dealing with my 30+ pound of cherries. Looks really good. Also makes me glad I decided not to bring my jars with me in July. I wondered whether or not they could be considered dangerous.

Leave a Reply

