Quick Creamy Pumpkin Soup

Jen here.  I know – it’s been a while.  I’ve been pretty busy lately.  We’ve been cooking things like brown rice, and bacon ricotta pasta, and focaccia made from my 5-minute bread dough (I’ll post details later) but nothing new and exciting.  But, the cooking holiday of the year is coming up, and I wanted to share a recipe we’re going to try this year (so, no action shots yet, except for one I just took today of the prep work).

The craziness in my world stems from the fact that my brother-in-law, Mike, passed away completely unexpectedly at the end of October.  He loved to cook, and while I was talking with my niece after his funeral, she remembered how he had served pumpkin soup one year that she had come up for Thanksgiving.  In the aftermath of all the organizing, mourning and cleaning, I ran across a recipe of Mike’s, which was his “Quick Creamy Pumpkin Soup.”  So, in his honor, I will be making this for my family this year year, since we will be hosting Thanksgiving at our house.  I don’t know for certain if this is what he served that year, but it will be his Thanksgiving recipe from now on.  I love how fast it goes together.  There’s also a bit of versatility, too.  I’ll be doubling this for Thanksgiving.

First, you’ll need canned pumpkin, or pumpkin puree.  I’m making mine using these directions from Nourishing Heart & Home (a lovely website).  I tried it the first time a couple of weeks ago, after somebody threw a pumpkin at our front door.  You know, when life gives you lemons (or a cracked sugar pie pumpkin), make lemonade (or pumpkin puree).  These are actually the three small pumpkins we bought right before Halloween, that we never carved (there just wasn’t time).  I’m roasting them as we speak.  The first pumpkin gave me 3-1/2 cups of puree that in my freezer.  (One tip:  I pureed my pumpkin in my blender, and had to add a bit of water.  This time I’m going to use the water that’s in the roasting pan.)

Roasting pumpkins

Quick Creamy Pumpkin Soup from Mike Nebeker

1 can pumpkin (about 2 cups homemade)
1 can (14-ounces) chicken or vegetable broth
1 cup cream, or milk (nonfat milk OK – if you really have to (I can hear Mike’s voice))
White pepper to taste (1/2 to 1 tsp.)
Nutmeg
Optional: 1/2 cup chopped celery, 1 small chopped onion, sauté, and add other seasonings.

Put chicken broth in a 2-quart saucepan.  Stir in pumpkin.  Heat until pumpkin is hot.  Add cream and pepper.  Puree in a blender (use your immersion blender here) until smooth.  Serve in bowls with a light sprinkling of nutmeg.

2 thoughts on “Quick Creamy Pumpkin Soup

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Dinner 2009 « Alchemy in Alameda

Leave a Reply

