Roasted Carrots (or a CA garden in January)

Jen here!  I know – nobody missed me, but I’ve missed eating food worthy of sharing.  I’m sure I’ve cooked over the last few months.  I even blogged about it once, on my other blog – but I’m not sure what I’ve done (except I did get a new book that I’ve played with, with relative success).  I got a new camera, I’ve taken pictures, but not sure what happened to our food experiences.  (Please don’t ask about that food storage meal the other day: Rice – a – Roni + Canned Chicken + Frozen Vegetables = Hey, that’s what we had on hand.)

But, tonight we’ve had a break in the rain, and I was checking out my neglected vegetables out in the garden, and decided it was time to cook some carrots, eat something fresh (even though I haven’t been to the store in two weeks).  Now, I didn’t take pictures of the carrots tonight, but the recipe I used called for 12 carrots, and I only used 6 and had  plenty.  These carrots have been in the ground since last summer, and a couple of them looked like the one found here (scroll down).  So, I made roasted carrots, using a recipe from Ina Garten from FoodNetwork.com,  seasoned with volunteer dill from last summer’s dill plants (which turned into a ladybug nesting ground more than a part of a kitchen herb garden).

Roasted Carrots

, 1999, The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, All rights reserved

Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 20 min
Serves: 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 12 carrots
  • 3 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh dill or parsley

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

If the carrots are thick, cut them in half lengthwise; if not, leave whole. Slice the carrots diagonally in 1 1/2-inch-thick slices. (The carrots will shrink while cooking so make the slices big.) Toss them in a bowl with the olive oil, salt, and pepper. Transfer to a sheet pan in 1 layer and roast in the oven for 20 minutes, until browned and tender.

Toss the carrots with minced dill or parsley, season to taste, and serve.

I picked this recipe because it was the easiest one, with the fewest ingredients.  I always find that I have to roast my vegetables longer than recipes call for, and I haven’t decided if it’s because I like my roasted vegetables crispier and more caramelized than most people, or if my light-colored baking sheets are slowing down the process.  With this recipe, after the original 20 minutes, I kicked my oven up to 425 and let the carrots cook for another 10 minutes.  I probably could have gone another 10 minutes at the higher temp and been pretty happy, but I was hungry.  My husband and I loved these, my 7-year old was “neutral” after saying “yum” and 3-year old wouldn’t touch them because there were green things on the carrots (he’ll eat plain, raw carrots all day).

One thought on “Roasted Carrots (or a CA garden in January)

Leave a Reply

