Inspiration – and overnight cinnamon rolls

Sometimes, late on a Saturday night, the need arises to have cinnamon rolls ready for a 9am class for the Young Women at church on Sunday. And then sometimes, the 5-minute bread dough supply is painfully lacking, and one has to start from scratch. So, we improvise, and were thus inspired. Here, the rundown on my overnight cinnamon rolls which were, quite honestly, delicious and now gone.

All that was left this morning


I used my sister’s Rustic Italian Bread recipe – because it’s super quick and pretty good, especially in a pinch. But since I was teaching about financial responsibility – which includes provident living and food storage – and because I like it, I wanted some whole wheat flour to be involved. Fortunately, I’ve been perusing the “Healthy Bread in 5-Minutes a Day” from the library (on the Christmas list, Honey!), which helped me figure out how to use my vital wheat gluten to get the dough to have whole wheat and still be happy. In case you’re wondering, at least mine calls for 1 1/2 t. vital wheat gluten per cup of whole wheat flour.

Overnight Cinnamon Rolls
yield – 8×8 baking pan

Dough:
1 c warm water (105F – 115F)
2 1/4 t active dry yeast
high elevation 1 1/2 t active dry yeast
1 1/2 to 2 c all-purpose flour
1 c whole wheat flour (use more if you want and have gluten, or less if you’re dropping the kids off after feeding them – insulin spike!!)
1 1/2 t vital wheat gluten (optional, but it makes it lighter)
3/4 t salt

Filling: (approximate measurements, would be lovely with other flavors substituted in also!)
1/4 c butter, softened
Brown sugar
white sugar
cinnamon

Butter 8×8 baking dish.

Place warm water in a large bowl. Sprinkle yeast over water. Let stand 5 minutes or until yeast is dissolved. Add 1 cup flour and salt. Mix well until blended. Stir in enough remaining flour to make a soft dough. [Alternatively, dissolve yeast in KitchenAid then proceed to mix in the flour and knead for about 3-4 minutes on 2, skipping the following hand kneading.]

Knead dough on lightly floured surface until smooth and elastic, 6-8 minutes.

Place dough in a buttered bowl, turning dough to butter top. Cover; let rise until almost double in size, 30-45 minutes.

Roll dough out until it is a large rectangle (I did this on my silpat so I didn’t have to deal with flouring the board and having it stick to everything). The bigger and thinner you roll it, the more swirls you’ll have in your rolls. Spread butter all over the dough, leaving about 1/2 inch margin on bottom end, sprinkle with brown sugar. Mix together cinnamon and sugar and sprinkle over the brown sugar (I never said these were healthy, just tasty). Roll dough up and pinch dough together; slice into 9 or so rolls (I made a double batch so I’m guessing on the number). This is most easily done using dental floss. Snuggle those rolls together in the baking dish, cover and pop in the fridge.

In the morning, pull baking dish out of the fridge and in the same move, turn on the oven to 375F. Preheat the oven for 20 minutes, then pop the whole thing (sans plastic wrap, of course) in the oven for 35-ish minutes. When the tops are golden and lovely, remove from the oven. Voila – BREAKFAST!!!

Glaze with your favorite (or easiest) glaze. I used 3T softened cream cheese, 3T of milk, and 1 1/2 c powdered sugar mixed together and drizzled over the top.

Note: This recipe can be easily doubled, just don’t completely double the yeast. I usually use 2 1/2 t instead of 1 1/2 (at 5000 feet). There may be a “better” recipe out there, but this was just so easy that I probably won’t go for anything more complicated anytime soon.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration – and overnight cinnamon rolls

  1. Pingback: Mmm, Cinnamon Rolls. « The Williams Way

  2. Glad to hear how it all worked out. I’m trying to use some wheat flour in everything, but I haven’t used gluten in my blends of wheat and white. I may have to give that a try. I love the “Healthy Artisan Breads” book and wish I had the resources (time, energy and groceries) to try more. I have lots of them marked for future baking.

  3. Pingback: Banana Bread Larabar DIY Recipe & Artisan Bread Pandemonium « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

