“Almost-vegan”: A brief introduction

Can we just call this a journal for now? I will hopefully take the time to explain this in the future, but for now, suffice to say, we are participating in a small-scale experiment. So small, it includes only our friends and ourselves and we’re the only ones tracking the results. But since it affects us directly, we are heavily invested in it.

As I type this, my almost 21-month-old is demanding hugs while sitting on my lap as I try not to push her off with my 6 1/2 month pregnant belly. Normal people wouldn’t try this kind of an experiment in this condition, but apparently I’m a pushover, especially since our friends just had their sixth child, so who am I to complain at the complexity of this.

Our experiment is a combination of the Word of Widsom (Doctrine & Covenants 89) and The China Study. If you’ve seen Forks over Knives, that’s an abbreviated synopsis of the China Study, and the Word of Wisdom is the LDS code of “Health”. We’re focusing on this part:

10 And again, verily I say unto you, all wholesome herbs God hath ordained for the constitution, nature, and use of man—

11 Every herb in the season thereof, and every fruit in the season thereof; all these to be used with prudence and thanksgiving.

12 Yea, flesh also of beasts and of the fowls of the air, I, the Lord, have ordained for the use of man with thanksgiving; nevertheless they are to be used sparingly;

13 And it is pleasing unto me that they should not be used, only in times of winter, or of cold, or famine.

14 All grain is ordained for the use of man and of beasts, to be the staff of life, not only for man but for the beasts of the field, and the fowls of heaven, and all wild animals that run or creep on the earth;

15 And these hath God made for the use of man only in times of famine and excess of hunger.

16 All grain is good for the food of man; as also the fruit of the vine; that which yieldeth fruit, whether in the ground or above the ground—

You can call us crazy, we’re totally cool with that, and it might be a too extreme for most people, but I’m also okay with that. So, the chronicles that follow will not be collections of fabulous recipes full of wonderful things as most people conventionally know them, but are being kept more for my sake as a log of what we’re eating for those weeks I couldn’t possibly come up with something new or want to think about dinner.

And no, we generally don’t call ourselves vegan, because we’re not. We added a dollop of sour cream to last night’s guacamole to make it a bit smoother, but that was all the animal products you would have found. We’re just trying to minimize our use of animal products. And I’m not going as strict as Matt (in my condition), and the kids aren’t even coming close, though they do generally eat what we do for dinner and we’ve taken milk mostly out of their diets as we find they’re less congested without it and there are plenty of good substitutes.

I will probably wax philosophical in the future about the ideas behind our decisions, but time is forcing me to stop and leave et my son from school right now and to stop here.

2 thoughts on ““Almost-vegan”: A brief introduction

  1. Again, I love it. I’m excited to start living by a similar interpretation of that scripture, as I’ve often felt that we brush off certain phrases more than we should. Can’t wait to hear about your food journeys!

  2. Pingback: A very veggie birthday – and why we are (mostly) plant-based « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

