Our Favorite Granola

Breakfast changes only slightly when taking out the dairy, eggs and meat. Yes, we do generally enjoy bacon, but it’s not permitted in the experiment, we’ve lost some traditional variety. That said, a normal breakfast is oatmeal or cereal or toast with lots of fruit or fresh juice and generally, that’s more than sufficient.

One of our favorite things, at least for the grown-ups, is our favorite granola. I’ve tried several different recipes and maybe I just don’t have the touch I need to make amazing granolas, but I’m over it since we like this one so much. I don’t add dried fruit since I’d rather put on fresh fruit. I figure I can always add raisins if I need to, but between Costco and Bountiful Baskets, we’re usually in full supply of berries and bananas. I’ve even put pears on it and loved it.

Note: For the butter, I’ve started experimenting with substituting coconut oil. The last batch was 4T butter and 2T coconut oil, affected only by seeming slightly less browned at the end of baking. We’ll see what increased substitutions do or you can let me know.

Coconut Almond Granola
yield: just over 1/2 gallon (I usually snack on enough while it’s cooling that it fits nicely in a 1/2 gallon jar)
1 1/2 c. quick oats
1 1/2 c. rolled oats
1 1/3 c. chopped raw almonds
3/4 c. unsweetened shredded coconut
3/4 c. chopped cashews
1/2 c. brown sugar (use what you have since I haven’t figured out the “alternative” sugars yet)
Optional: handful of pumpkin, sunflower or sesame seeds, some flaxseed meal
1 t. ground allspice
2 1/2 t. ground cinnamon
6 T. butter (see note)
3 T honey
1 t. coconut extract
3/4 t. almond extract

Preheat oven to 300F. Mix together all ingredients, oats through cinnamon in a large bowl. In a small pan over medium heat, melt together the butter (coconut oil) and honey. Remove from heat when combined and stir in extracts. Pour honey mixture over the oat mixture and stir to combine thoroughly. Bake on a half sheet pan for 45 minutes, stirring at 20 minutes and 35 minutes (I just set my timer for 20/15/10 minute intervals). Let cool and store in a sealed container until it’s gone or bad, hopefully until it’s gone.

My kids love it with fruit and yogurt, and I have it with almond milk and fruit (or just plain). Matt eats it just about any way he can get it.

One thought on “Our Favorite Granola

  1. Pingback: Banana Bread and Seed WINNER! « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

