Out with the Old, in with the New

One of the first things I did after deciding to change my diet was to totally gut my kitchen. I mean gut it! I knew I wouldn’t be able to cope and stick to a healthy whole foods switch if I had unhealthy or unauthorized foods lurking around. I took literally over $100 worth of meat out of my freezer and gave them to a carnivorous friend.

I took all the dairy out of my fridge. I was a little embarrassed and surprised by how much crap had been lurking in my fridge and freezer….

Then I took all the processed foods and foods with meat or dairy out of my pantry. No more Kraft mac & cheese or Ramen noodles. Sorry kiddos! Gone also were the white flour, white sugar and white rice. Buh-Bye cookies, cake mixes, and all other refined crap! Phew. The food bank loved me that day!

I then went on a shopping extravaganza now if you were to look in my fridge, freezer and pantry, this is what you would find:

Freezer: Full to the brim with frozen fruits of every kind, frozen veggies of every kind, freezer jam, ground flax, yeast and veggie burgers (Dr. Praeger’s)

Fridge: Overflowing with eggplants, tomatoes, bell peppers, carrots, baby spinach, lettuces, corn, baby Portobello mushrooms, bok choy, napa cabbage, green onion, basil, cilantro, parsley, avocado, lemons, limes, oranges, mangoes, apples, pears, grapes, blueberries, strawberries, several varieties of tofu, several varieties of soy and nut milk, condiments that are free of high fructose corn syrup and general crap. I admit there is brown cow yogurt in there right now and some full fat mozzarella cheese sticks for the kids. I am still working on weaning them from dairy.

Pantry: Whole wheat flour, whole wheat pastry flour, vital wheat gluten, millet, brown rice, quinoa, whole grain unsweetened cereals, oats, whole wheat pasta in every shape and variety, unsweetened applesauce, dairy free dark chocolate chips, pure maple syrup, turbinado sugar, unsulphered molasses, agave syrup, dates, flax seeds, raw cashews, raw almonds, nutritional yeast, almond butter, tahini, natural peanut butter, every variety of dried and canned beans and every variety of tomato that comes in a can (diced, crushed, paste, etc) and Amy’s kitchen lentil, not chicken noodle  and minestrone vegan soups for sick days and emergencies.

These are actually the short lists, but you get the picture. I needed to plan to succeed!

Leave a Reply

