Week 6: Chronicles from Feb 12, 2012

It’s hard to believe we’re 6 weeks into this adventure. It still seems brand new but at the same time it feels like we’ve got this all figured out. In many ways, this is the new normal for us, and my son has said things like this:

“Are you going to finish your sandwich?” “No, mom, I just want to eat fruits and vegetables.” WHAT!!! Who is this child.
And the night we had polenta – see below, he cleaned his plate. Completely. Even picked out the kale specially. Weird. I guess that means we’re making improvement. We have found this is definitely not cheaper, not when we’re going through 4 pounds of fresh strawberries (none in smoothies or juices, just eaten plain) in less than 48 hours. It definitely helps to make a lot of our own food, but I’m finding myself less enthusiastic and motivated, and more uncomfortable and heavy with this baby.

Sunday: It’s official. I think Sunday night is now leftovers night. Thank goodness Saturday usually produces pretty good meals or we’d be in trouble.
Monday: Crock-pot Split pea soup and Bread
Tuesday (Valentine’s Day AND our Anniversary): Kale, Mushroom and Tomato Saute with Polenta from Whole Foods
This is the surprising dish my son finished off and I was definitely surprised. I made my own polenta, but would have liked a bit more moisture both from the polenta and the saute. I think it would have been much yummier if it had a creamy element
Wednesday: Chickpea Burgers with Tahini Sauce from 30-day Vegan Challenge. My vote – yuck. They lacked flavor, texture, holding power, and I just didn’t like them. My kids and husband ate them, but I just couldn’t enjoy them. I’m sure not everyone would agree.
Steamed asparagus with vegan mayonnaise, lemon juice, and hot sauce dip
Thursday: Salsa & guacamole with chips – yep, typical Thursday – so sad!
Friday: The Blue Plate Diner – love it!
But careful, the vultures (husband and children) will try to eat your food if you get something tasty.
Saturday: Dinner at a church function, i.e. white rolls and iceberg salad were the closest we could get to safe. One major drawback – no leftovers for Sunday’s dinner – yikes!

One thought on “Week 6: Chronicles from Feb 12, 2012

  1. It’s hard to believe you are lacking inspiration with the awesome meals you are still preparing! I LOVE the story about your son not wanting to eat his sandwich because he wanted to eat his fruits and veggies! We got some of that going on around here too, never would have heard that before. Just goes to show kids adapt and WILL eat what you serve them eventually. You rock!
    -Somer

Leave a Reply

