Broccoli Salad and Honey Mustard Tofu Cutlets

You know you’ve gone over the edge when during week one of lifestyle change you think nutritional yeast is pretty disgusting and tastes nothing like cheese. Now I’m using it in all sorts of recipes and loving it’s cheesiness. Go figure.  Ditto to Amanda, eating this way is definitely NOT cheaper. I am making my own bread and nut-milk now which will defray some of the expense, but we are now really getting all our servings of fruits and veg (and then some) and produce is just downright expensive, especially organic produce. This may be the year we finally start a garden. Thank goodness for Costco and Bountiful Baskets, otherwise we’d be broke. See this article by vegan triathlete Brendan Brazier as to why a fast food hamburger costs less than an organic apple, kinda makes you mad!

Anyways, I am finding that when I don’t have a meal plan, I am not as successful either. I ended up pulling something together for dinner last night, but had it been two months ago it would have been one of those nights where I popped a frozen stauffer’s lasagna in my oven. Sad I know, but true. Here is what we ate: Broccoli Salad (thanks to Amanda for her post and reminding me what to do with the loads of broccoli I have in my fridge), balsamic roasted vegetables and honey mustard tofu cutlets.

It all looked very yummy, but the balsamic roasted veggies left much to be desired. I got the idea from this site with a banner that says “What the hell does a vegan eat anyway?” So funny.  They make crazy delicious looking recipes. They riffed the idea from Jamie Oliver. Anyway, I tried to make a version without oil ala forks over knives. NOT great, I am sure the original recipes would be quite delicious.

Just learning that oil is possibly just as much a refined food as white flour or white sugar. During the processing of oil, all the nutritional values and fiber are stripped out and you are left with a processed food that is 100% fat with little or no other nutritional content.  Consuming oil may also be damaging to your arteries. More on oil debate here and here. Trying to eat less, not sure if I’m ready to eliminate. Who woulda thought I would have a harder time giving up olive oil then cheese?

My honey mustard tofu cutlets and broccoli salad were tasty though. Recipes follow.

Honey Mustard Tofu Cutlets

1 block extra firm tofu, drained and wrapped in paper towels to remove excess moisture

make glaze by combining: 1 T. Honey, 1 T. Brown Packed Brown Sugar, 1 T. dijon mustard, 1/4 t. dried thyme, salt and pepper to taste.

Cut tofu into 6 cutlets. Place on broiler pan and brush with half of above glaze. Broil for 5 minutes until golden, remove from oven, use remaining glaze on the other side and broil for 5 more minutes watching carefully so it doesn’t burn. Yummo. Would probably be even better if they were allowed some time to marinate in the glaze.

Broccoli Salad

1 head chopped broccoli

handful of spinach, roughly chopped

1 C. grapes, cut into halves

1/2 C. matchstick carrots

2. T. veganaise (love it, don’t know how I will cut out oil 😦 )

1 T. braggs raw apple cider vinegar

1 t. chia seeds.

1 T. nutritional yeast

Mix all in a big bowl to combine. We all love this recipe, it’s always a hit.

2 thoughts on “Broccoli Salad and Honey Mustard Tofu Cutlets

  1. Props on the oil attempt. I don’t know that we’ll ever be rid of it, but maybe that’s one reason I keep my cultured butter around, way less processing (mostly) than some of the other oils. And I need to keep Matt upright, since he’s now a whopping 155lbs at 6’1″. He’s eating, but I’m afraid he might not survive with much more lost. But it’s true – i think oil is harder to quit than cheese.

    • I think if I didn’t have so many health issues I wouldn’t be so hardcore. I think it’s great you are using the cultured butter and it is definitely less processed then the other oil choices. Have Matt eat handfuls of nuts too and insane amounts of avocado! Poor guy!

Leave a Reply

