Smokey Vegan Split Pea Soup

My mom emailed me and asked me for a split pea soup recipe a month or so ago. I had always made split pea in the past with a ham bone and didn’t know how I could make one without it that would compare. So I forgot and never emailed her back. I was looking in my pantry last night, saw the split peas and thought, why not? I concocted this recipe for last nights dinner.

I hit the vegan fake meat flavor jackpot! My daughter said “Mom, I thought we weren’t eating meat anymore, why does this have HAM in it?!” HA! My son said, “Good soup Mom” and then ate every bite and licked his bowl….A rare occurance around here! I liked it so much I ate it again for breakfast this morning. Ok, enough bragging, here it is:

Smokey Vegan Split Pea Soup

1 red onion, diced

4 carrots, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 large russet or red potato, diced with peel on

1 t. dried thyme

8 C. water
2 T. Better than Bullion’s NO chicken base
1 T. Liquid smoke (yes, it’s vegan)
16 oz. (1 lb) green split peas
1 bay leaf
Water saute the onion, carrots, garlic and potato and thyme in large saucepan with 1/2 C. water until the onion is translucent. Add all the other ingredients. Simmer over low heat with the lid on for 30-40 minutes, until peas are very tender. Remove bay leaf. Serve as is, blend until smooth or pulse a few times with a stick blender (my favorite method) for a slightly thickened but still chunky soup. The liquid smoke really gives it the ‘ham’ flavor! It is much thicker the next day, those peas keep expanding!
This recipe can also be made in a Crockpot. Just stick in all the ingredients and let it cook all day.
2 thoughts on “Smokey Vegan Split Pea Soup

  1. Liquid smoke is the trick – whenever I want to make a meal that calls for bacon or ham – I add the liquid smoke. My parents who are major meat eaters didn’t notice the meat wasn’t there when I made Pasta Primavera

    • Love that stuff. That’s a great idea to put in the Primavera. I need to try that with my Vegan Bechamel! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

