Week 8: Chronicles from Feb 26, 2012

Yikes – are we really in our 8th full week? I guess so. I told my husband yesterday that I wanted less complicated food, that I wanted to be able to just eat something rather than stress about it because this really is, in many ways, like learning a new language. I just didn’t grow up speaking vegan, or even vegetarian, and that’s okay, but it does make this a bit harder. They say the best time to teach children a language is when they are young, and as I watch my children eating what I’m cooking, I am astounded at their ability to adapt. They definitely get more leeway than I give myself, since cheese and yogurt and sour cream are still regular menu items for them, but they’re eating enough and FULL of energy and healthy, and I can’t complain about that.

Sunday:
• Best Breakfast Scramble with peppers, onions, mushrooms & morningstar vegan sausage – recipe below
English muffins
Of this, my 4YO son said, “Mom, I really like In-n-Out and Lonestar, but I really love this.” I was astounded! Tofu scramble on the top of my kid’s new favorites list? Awesome.
Monday:
Somer’s Mexican Mountain with spinach layered in with the enchilada sauce #2, olives pureed in with the tofu “ricotta”, topped with a layer with leftover “cheez” sauce from the breakfast scramble
I admit, this was a bit much for me with so many “vegan” aspects going on, but we’ve nearly finished the entire 9×13 pan and I’ve had it for the last three days in some form, so I’m pretty sure it’s good. I’d add more beans next time and maybe some vegan cheddar that melts.
Tuesday:
• Everything – I over did it in the kitchen and had to sit down after about four (but made some lovely lemon blueberry muffins, a gallon of almond milk, and two loaves of whole wheat bread, not to mention all of the grocery shopping for the week,) So dad was on duty, and we each had some different version of leftovers.
And a smoothie. Again, my son said, “Mom, my favorite kind of smoothies are green ones.” I’m pretty lucky, I think.
Wednesday:
• Stir-fry (clean out the fridge) standby! Love it. Also made a 4x batch of rice for the freezer since brown rice can take so stinking long to cook and it’s nice to have on hand for other quick meals.
Thursday: Uh-oh, Daddy is gone from 7am until about 10pm – looks like we’re getting creative …
• Baked Potatoes with broccoli, Daiya “cheese” (sorta melts, tastes alright!), fake bacon bits – not a bad dinner considering
Friday:
Red Iguana with some agents Matt was entertaining from out of town – and in case you’re in the Salt Lake Area, they are changing their menu to include a “V” next to Vegan items. Hmmm, awesome. I got the veggie fajitas which were excellent and left plenty extra for Sunday night’s burritos. And an FYI – Red Iguana gets ranked as the best restaurant in SLC often, so be prepared to wait – I was the designated waiter and had an hour to people watch while Matt picked up his peeps.
Saturday: – Technically the day after our 60 day challenge, but I guess we’re still going
• Rough night in our house, so Matt had to make dinner because I couldn’t stand up. Really lame, if you ask me (that I couldn’t stand, not that Matt made dinner).
• Pasta with summer’s bounty sauce – it’s a sauce I made in the summer when tomatoes, peppers, summer squash, onions and garlic were all coming out our ears. I just roasted it all at about 375 degrees until everything was soft, pureed it, and froze it. And it’s amazing! My son ate all of his, and was the first one done.
• Salad with cucumbers, peppers, sliced almonds and oil & vinegar
• Fresh bread – yay for artisan bread in 5 minutes a day – this was baked before I couldn’t stand.

The Best Breakfast Scramble Ever!
Ingredients :
Cheez sauce:
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon garlic powder
2 cups water
1 teaspoon yellow mustard
4 tablespoons vegan margarine (I use Earth Balance)
Stir fry:
1/2 onion, chopped
1/2 red pepper, chopped
7-8 big mushrooms chopped
3 morningstar farms sausage patties, chopped into bite-sized chunks
cooking oil, as needed
1 pound tofu, drained and crumbled (firm or extra firm)
pinch turmeric, optional
salt and pepper, to taste
4 whole wheat english muffins, toasted
Directions:
1. For cheez sauce, mix first 3 ingredients together in sauce pan. Add water and mix thoroughly. Heat on medium until thick and bubbly. Remove from heat and add mustard and margarine. Set aside.
2. For stir fry, saute veggies and sausage in oil. When they are good and soft, move them to the sides of the pan and form an empty circle in the middle for your tofu.
3. Add more oil to the middle of the pan, then add your drained, crumbled tofu. When it starts to get golden, mix in the peppers and onion and keep frying. You can add some turmeric for color, if you like.
4. When it looks like you could eat it, add the cheez sauce (about 1/3 of it) and mix it all in to coat, until that becomes golden brown too. I saute this for another couple of minutes. You might not need all of the sauce. I save the leftovers for pizza or nachos. Add salt and pepper to taste (this makes all the difference!).

Leave a Reply

