Day 4, Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge

So I cheated today, but it’s not exactly what you think! You see, I am training for a half marathon at the moment and when I do my longer runs, my calorie and nutrition requirements go up. So Saturday I did an 8 mile training run and I had a Clif Shot at mile 4 and in my Fuel Belt water bottles I had Crystal Light Pure Fitness (not the regular artificially sweetened, artificially colored Crystal Light!) I also added an extra banana to my kale green smoothie! Nice cheating, I swear!

Here is what I ate today:

Pre-breakfast (during my run): Mocha Clif Shot, Tropical Crystal Light Pure Fitness

Breakfast: Kale Green Smoothie with 5 C. packed Kale, 3 Bananas, 2 C. frozen mixed berries, 2 T. flax, 4 C. water, stevia to taste. Again, this makes 2 quarts, I put one quart in the fridge and have it later in the day.

Lunch: 1 C. veggie soup, yes, it keeps going and it is still very tasty.

Afternoon Snackage: 2nd Green Kale Smoothie leftover from this morning.

Dinner: Big romaine salad with 4 C. chopped romaine, 1/2 C. frozen green peas, 1 julliened carrot, 1/2 sliced red bell pepper, and 1/2 orange (supremed) and the remainder of Chef A.J.’s amazing Take 5 dressing. Sorry for the crappy photo, need to use a real camera instead of my phone! At least you get the visual idea!

Here are my stats for the day: I’m over on sugars because of the necessary cheats!

DIET SCORE CARD  ( Edit targets )
Target:
Eaten:

Calories

under 1,400
1150x

Carbohydrate

under 245 g
242 g 80%x

Protein

under 63 g
34 g 11%x

Fat

under 19 g
12 g 9%x

Water

over 8 glasses
12 glassesx
Target:
Eaten:

Dietary Fiber

over 25 g
46 gx

Saturated Fat

under 16 g
1 gx

Trans Fat

under 2 g
0 gx

Cholesterol

under 300 mg
0 mgx

Sodium

under 1,400 mg
861 mgx
Target:
Eaten:

Sugars

under 88 g
116 gx

Vitamin A

over 2,333 IU
4623 IUx

Vitamin C

over 75 mg
695 mgx

Calcium

over 1,000 mg
763 mgx

Iron

over 18 mg
13 mgx
2 thoughts on “Day 4, Week-long Green Smoothie Challenge

  1. Yum! Don’t you love Chef A.J’s dressings?! All of her recipes are sensational. If you haven’t tried her Hail Kale salad yet, I definitely recommend it!

    • Yes! Back in my early blogging days, she sent me a copy of her book “Unprocessed” We have maintained and email dialogue ever since. She is every bit as approachable and lovely as her recipes!

      Ohhh, you just reminded me I have a head of kale in my fridge just waiting to be used, I was gonna make kale chips, but I think that salad sounds much more refreshing! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

