Finger Lickin’ Vegan Morrocan Chickn’ with Olives and Lemons- 2 ways

You’ll have to excuse the lovely aluminum tray in the photo above! I took version 1 to a sickly neighbor tonight!

So the ladies over at kristaandjess.wordpress.com (and their stunning chickens) are amazing! The other day they had a post about preserved lemons that intrigued me. In the comments section of that post there was discussion about how to use the preserved lemons, which led to Morrocan chicken dishes. Now these girls are vegetarians, as am I, so I thought I would use their blog idea and segue into my own vegan recipe creation. Now, I didn’t have my sweetheart prepare me any preserved lemons so I had to use fresh instead 😉 Instructions for either method are included in the recipe.

Note: this recipe uses TVP chunks which I know is controversial in the vegetarian/vegan world. Many say they are super processed or sourced from GMO soybeans. The sole ingredient in my TVP chunks is soy flour. Doesn’t sound that scary…. I don’t use these often so if they really are hazardous to my health, I’m sure I’m fine. If you have an issue with TVP just use more of your favorite beans and veggies instead!

Finger Lickin’ Morrocan Chickn’ with Olives and Lemons Part I

3 C. TVP chunks (3/4 inch) soaked in 5 C. Boiling Water until tender, about 5 minutes

1 onion, finely diced
3-4 cloves minced garlic

2 t. smoked paprika

1 t. ground cumin
1 t. toasted whole cumin seeds
1 t. dried ginger
1 t. ground cinnamon
1/2 t. ground pepper
1 C. golden raisins
1 C. green olives with pimentos diced (I know plain green would have been more traditional, but that’s what I had) These are usually insanely salty, but I used a super reduced sodium version.
2 t. salt (you may be able to omit salt entirely if using fully salted Spanish olives and the salty preserved lemon)
1 15 oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes (or not fire roasted is ok too)
1 lemon, juiced (reserve) and zested (reserve) OR 4 T. fresh lemon juice and sliced rind from 1 preserved lemon
1/4 C. chopped cilantro
1/4 C. chopped parsley
1 can garbanzo beans drained and rinsed
1 C. water
Method: water saute onion and garlic in large saucepan until translucent. Add all dried spices and TVP and stir until TVP is covered in the spices and nice and pungent. Add the water, raisins, fire roasted diced tomatoes, garbanzos and olives. Simmer for a couple minutes then toss in reserved lemon juice and zest. Stir in half the fresh cilantro and parsley and garnish with the other half. Great served over brown rice, like above or your favorite grain.
Finger Lickin’ Morrocan Chickn’ with Olives and Lemons Part II
The first dish I made was utterly delicious, but I wanted to amp up it’s nutritional value so when I made the second batch I followed all my ingredients above then added:
1 lb thawed and drained frozen spinach
For some reason it wasn’t as lovely as before and now needed a creamy element so out came:
1 can coconut milk.
Ahhh perfection!
2 thoughts on “Finger Lickin’ Vegan Morrocan Chickn’ with Olives and Lemons- 2 ways

  1. I love tvp, I don’t care how bad it is for me. I avoid so many other “bad” foods, I can take a little risk with tvp! This sounds delicious, I will keep it in mind for when our lemons are ready!

Leave a Reply

