Surprisingly Fullfilled – Coconut Curry Soup

I am on day 13 of whole food/plant protein diet and I realize these last two weeks I have felt very “satisfied.” Not only is my belly full, I feel full. In the past it seemed like I could stuff myself with protein and still not feel satisfied–I was still looking for something. The past two weeks, I have made the Smokey-cheesy-spicy Black bean soup, The Lentil soup and the African peanut stew. Every dish has not only been delicious but also beautiful. I especially love the colors in the African peanut stew. My body feels so happy!

We had friends over for dinner Sat night and I fixed Coconut Curry soup. I have made this one a few times, it is a favorite. Our friends are meat eaters, but loved it, four of us finished the entire pot. We followed it with some coconut ice cream (recipe adapted from the vitamix recipe book)

Coconut Curry Soup

Adapted from “reader recipe” by Tina Washburn

4 C water

3 c spinach (I did 5 to up the greens)

½ lb snow peas  trimmed and cut crosswise (I didn’t have any snow peas this time so I used snap peas, it was good, but I prefer the snow peas)

1 (5 3/4 ounce) package pad thai noodles (wide rice stick noodles)

1T canola oil

¼ c thinly sliced shallots (I left these out)

2 t red curry paste

1 ½ t curry powder (I have some I bought with my Vitamix I used)

½ t turmeric

½ t ground coriander

2 garlic cloves minced

6 cups broth (I used “Better than Bullion Vegetable base”)

1 (13.5 ounce) can light coconut milk

1 brick firm tofu  ½ cubed

½ c chopped onion

2 T sugar (I used evaporated cane juice)

½ cup chopped fresh cilantro

Lime wedges

Bring 4 cups of water to boil in large sauce pan. Add spinach and peas to pan, cook for 30 seconds. Remove vegetables from pan with a slotted spoon, place in large bowl. Add noodles to water, cook 3 mins. Drain add noodles to spinach mixture in bowl.

Heat canola oil in pan over medium heat. Add shallots and the next 5 ingredients (though garlic) to pan, sauté 1 min stirring constantly. Add broth to pan, bring to boil. Add coconut milk to pan, cook for 2 mins. Add tofu, onions and sugar cook for 2 mins. Pour broth mixture over noodle mixture in bowl. Stir in cilantro Serve with lime wedges. Yields 7, 2 cup servings

One thought on “Surprisingly Fullfilled – Coconut Curry Soup

  1. That recipe looks awesome. There is a Malaysian soup called Laksa that it looks similar to. I need to make it!

    I used to have the same sort of insatiable feeling before going plant based. I would make a crock pot full of pulled pork and I could easily eat a pound of it by myself and still want more. I hardly ever have second helpings now or feel hungry after finishing a meal nearly as much as I used to.

    When I am having one of those days where I am doing emotional eating, the extra serving of brown rice, smoothie, salad or beans is hardly going to hurt my body.

    My snacks and treats have become a small handful of cashews followed up with a few dates. I used to love cookies, cakes brownies and ice cream. I now only occasionally make plant based whole foods versions of these things and I am satisfied with smaller servings.

    As a result of going plant based I also feel that my body image and self esteem has improved. Because I am putting good things in my body, my body loves me back. It’s a wonderful cycle!

Leave a Reply

