Second Breakfasts (Best Vegan Mac & Cheese & Chelsea’s Fruit Smoothie)

April 19, 2012

I just finished second breakfasts.  I had my normal green smoothie for breakfast, but Somer’s  enchiladas that I made for dinner last night were calling to me so I had a helping for second breakfast, and would now like third breakfast, but I need to control myself because I promised my mom and sister we would have them for lunch.

 Image

I am always salivating by the time the dish comes out of the oven so I never get a shot BEFORE I have inhaled part of it. My son even ate some of these (slathered with fry sauce—so gross) I added salsa and ranch to mine—delicious!

Just had lunch, mom and sister loved them so much they have requested them for lunch tomorrow (am I being taken advantage of?). I am going to try them with spinach in the layers this time.

I have been vegan now for 30 days and have re-discovered my love of food, not just eating it, but preparing it. I used to love to cook, but dieting over the years took the joy out of it. Being able to eat all this delicious food without getting sick or fat has made me fall in love again. Not only has this food not made me sick, despite the ginormous quantities I consume, to include second and sometimes third breakfasts, but I am losing weight. It is remarkable to me that I can be so totally satisfied and still be dropping weight. Last week I dropped 2 lbs. Although it seems I have been trying to lose weight my entire life,  that is not what made me decide to follow this lifestyle. Seeds of a whole food, plant based diet have been sown over the years, really beginning with my mom feeding us homemade, healthy food, then 8 years ago my son, who was 5 at the time, decided to become vegetarian (that story to come later). After reading “Eat to Live” I decided I wanted to eat whole, plant based for health reasons and I am so happy how my food is making me feel!

My son decided to go vegan last summer, and the one thing he has missed the most is macaroni and cheese. I have tried several different recipes and they have all made him cry (literally cry). This week we found a winner. It still isn’t as good as my old recipe that uses real cheese, but it is the closest we have found. Andrew actually ate 2 bowls. Next time I am going to add ½ c pureed cauliflower. I used to put it in my old recipe, but wanted to see how this one worked out without altering it.

Best Vegan Mac and Cheese according to Andrew  (modified from Daiya website)

 Image

Again, worst picture, but you can see how “cheesy” the sauce is on the side of the bowl. It reminded me of cheese whiz, always a hit with kids!

Servings: 

4

Ingredients: 

8 ounces gluten-free or regular pasta, any shape  ( I used closer to 12 oz)

3 cups Daiya style Shreds (this is the only brand I have found  that will make an actual cheese sauce)

3 tablespoons vegan butter

2 cups unsweetened (soy / rice) milk product

1 tablespoon nutritional yeast

¼ teaspoon black pepper

¼ teaspoon paprika

Instructions: 

Cook pasta according to package instructions. Drain thoroughly when done.. Prepare the cheese sauce while oven is warming. In a small pot melt the butter. When melted, add the pepper and nutritional yeast.

Stir in the milk or crème product. Add the cheddar, and cook over low/medium heat for about 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently to prevent burning. Stir in the macaroni and mix together.

I didn’t bake mine, but you can try this variation:

Transfer to an 8×8 casserole dish. Top with the bread crumbs and paprika. Bake for 15 minutes uncovered, or until the cheese is bubbling and top is starting to brown.

Remove from oven and top with the parmesan just before serving.

My Vegan son doesn’t like vegetables so I have to sneak them into everything I cook him—including his smoothies. He comments that it is a weird color but so good. I told him the color is weird because I use the blended fruit and you just never know what you are going to get.

Chelsea’s Fruit Smoothie (named for my niece who LOVES spinach)

 Image

1 cup vanilla or plain almond milk (if you use plain, you have to add a little more sweetener)

1 cup vanilla ice cream (I make coconut ice cream and freeze it to use for these)

1 cup fruit blend from Costco

Sweeten to taste (if you use vanilla almond milk and sweetened ice cream you probably won’t need to add any sweetener)

½ c spinach (do not let child witness this part)

Place everything in blender, in order listed, blend (I use vitamix method) Image

5 thoughts on “Second Breakfasts (Best Vegan Mac & Cheese & Chelsea’s Fruit Smoothie)

  1. Whenever I see “second breakfast,” I think of when I was pregnant with the twins and second breakfast was a BIG part of my day. Makes me smile. I too have found weight loss to be a piece of cake since shifting our diet. And as you say it’s nice to be excited about abundance and quality without knowing you can only have a tablespoon of food. Glad you found a mac n cheese that works. The only one we’ve had any luck with so far had a cashew based “cheese” sauce that I think I found on epicurious.

  2. So happy that he loves the mac & cheese. I had hoped the Daiya would pull through for you, I had heard good things about it!

    I love reading about your transformation. I found some of the same experiences, that cooking became fun again, instead of a chore, that I could eat more and still lose weight and that mostly, I was happy about the food I was eating. Apparently, it loves me back 😉

    I think I need to make those enchildas for dinner…. NOW! They are a favorite around here.

  3. I found a mac and cheese recipe that i want to try on the Ohsheglows.com site. it calls for butternut squash. Just picked up my squash today. Will let you know how it works. I went plant based about a month and a half thanks to Somer’s influence:). loving it. Feel great. Haven’t tried the enchiladas. Might do those tonight for my babysitting group

    • I think I would be very happy living in the Shire (yes, I am a total geek, love Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Indiana Jones–all the expected). Have you posted your cashew based cheese? I would love it.

      I saw the recipe on OhSheGlows, it looks yummy and I used pureed squash or cauliflower when I used real cheese, I bet it will be great!

      The ice cream recipe is a variation of the Vitamix recipe. Here it is:

      1 can coconut milk (i have used regular and lite, both are great)
      1/2 c sweetener (I usually use agave)
      1/4 cup powdered soy or rice milk (you can omit, it just makes it creamier)
      1 t vanilla extract
      4 cups ice cubes
      Method: Place everything in the vitamix in the order listed, turn on the blender quickly turn to “10” then “high” use the tamper to push ingredients down. In 30-60 seconds the sound of the motor will change and four mounds will form. Stop the machine. Over mixing will cause melting. To make it “stiffer” add more ice

Leave a Reply

