I don’t know about green eggs and ham, but I do. not. like. millet.

I tried this cozy millet bowl with mushroom gravy recipe on ohsheglows.com I didn’t really like it, as I have decided I don’t really like millet. So that is all I will say about that.

I did make up a chowder recipe that was pretty tasty though. I didn’t mean to make chowder, but that is what it most reminds me of. I was trying to make a tasty version of an Amish potato soup my sister makes. It is sooooo yummy, but requires milk and cheese. My vegan version (tastes nothing like the original). I liked it, but the cauliflower gave it kind of a bitter “bite.” My sister LOVED it and wanted the recipe. As she wolfed it down she wondered if her husband would like it—he never even got a taste. My son did not like it  (but he doesn’t like much) He insisted there was a grain in it (so did my sister) but it is the cauliflower, when it is lightly blended, it has the texture of a grain. I will try this one again, but I think with broccoli next time.

Creamy Vegi Chowder

 Creamy Vegi Chowder

Ingredients:

½ c diced celery

1 c diced carrots

4 diced medium potatoes

1 med head cauliflower

2 cups chopped kale

3 cups vegetable broth

2 tbsp nutritional yeast

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (or crushed red pepper flakes, this gives it a bite, so leave out if you don’t want so spicy)

Low-fat vegan cheeze sauce, divided (see below for recipe)

1/2 tbsp lemon juice (optional)

1 tsp onion powder, to taste

Kosher salt & black pepper, to taste

1/4 cup fresh minced parsley, plus more to garnish

Smoked paprika for garnish

Add everything to large pot, simmer for about 15 mins, until potatoes are tender to fork, but not soft. You can leave in big chunks, but I pulsed mine in the vitamix, a little. (Do it in 2 batches) then mix cheese sauce with blended veggies. Garnish with smoked paprika

Low-Fat Vegan Cheeze Sauce (double batch)

Found this on OhSheGlows. Here is the link.

Ingredients:

1.5 cup unsweetened, unflavoured almond milk

3/4 cup nutritional yeast

1 tbsp Earth Balance or other non-dairy buttery spread

2 tbsp all purpose flour

1 tbsp + 1 tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp kosher salt & freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1. In a skillet or pot, melt the Earth Balance over medium heat.

2. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the flour and 1/4 cup milk until all clumps are gone.

3. Whisk in the remaining milk (1.25 cups) as well as the milk and flour mixture into the pot. Now whisk in the nutritional yeast. Reduce heat to low-medium.

4. Add Dijon, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper to taste and whisk frequently over low heat until the sauce thickens up, for 3-5 minutes. Be careful not to burn it. Remove from heat once thick.

Andrew’s favorite because he doesn’t know it is good for him. Even as I make it, he tells me how much he hates spinach, but he loves these:

Peanut Buttercup shake

 Peanut Buttercup Shake

Servings: 2

½ cup chocolate almond milk

¼ cup peanut butter

1 heaping tsp cocoa

2 tsp agave (to taste)

½ c spinach (yup, weird and gives it a weird color, but can’t taste it. Warning: do not let child see this part)

2 cups ice

Blend on high in vitamix. Top with vegan whip cream (optional).

Nutritional info per serving: calories: 250, Fat 15, Carbs 17.5, fiber 2, protein 9

I found several other shakes in Chef AJ’s book that I am going to try this week.

Bread sticks

Image

I used my kamut sour dough bread recipe to make bread sticks. Andrew LOVES these!

In my quest to get nutrition into my vegan son who does not like vegetables, or protein—he just likes carbs really, I am always looking for ways to hide them in the food he likes. I hide them in EVERYTHING. I discovered the trick in “Deceptively Delicious” it is a cookbook by Jessica Seinfield,  it isn’t vegetarian or vegan, but I adapt the recipes. I puree veggies in bulk and put them in ziplock bags in the freezer.

One of his favorite foods is mashed potatoes and ranch. I modified my original concoction to be vegan. He loved them.

Complete Meal Mashed Potatoes created by me approved by my vegan son

Image

1 cup pureed cauliflower (steam it and add a little water to puree)

1 cup navy beans pureed (you will need to add a little water to get these to puree)

4-5 cups mashed potatoes (I leave the peels on if the potatoes are fresh)

4 eggs (optional)

½ cup nutritional yeast

1 tsp Italian seasoning

¼-1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (just depends on how thick you like them)

Salt to taste

1 cup ranch dressing (I used this vegan dressing)

½ cup melted earth balance butter (sometimes I sub with olive oil, but the earth balance does add flavor)

1 cup dayia shredded cheese (optional, for top)

1 bag French fried onions (for topping, this is the piece de resistance for my son, he loves these on top)

Method: mix everything in a big bowl except cheese and French fired onions. Place in 9×13 pan, cover,  bake on 350 for 30-40 mins. Top with cheese and French onions.

Another staple at our house are homemade noodles. Andrew went vegan for moral reasons, so he will eat things I make with our chicken’s unfertilized eggs, and milk from our goats.

Image
Image

I love our chickens

Homemade egg noodles (vegetarian—I don’t know how to make egg noodles without eggs)

1 cup white unbleached flour     (these started with 2 cups white flour, but trying to wean him off white flour, so I replace 1 cup with kamut and pastry whole wheat)

½ cup kamut flour

½ cup whole wheat pastry flour

¾ cup semolina flour

1 tsp  salt

4 eggs

2-3 Tbs olive oil

Mix everything in Bosch adding a little hot water until dough forms (1-2 Tbls). Mix for 10 mins. Cover dough and let rest 20 mins. Divide into sections,

Image

roll out (this part is Andrew’s job, I have a pasta maker I got for last years birthday, thanks sisters and mom) but you can do it by hand. Hang to dry. If you want to cook immediately bring broth to boil, cook noodles for 3-4 mins. Once noodles are dry cook 6-7 mins.

Image

10 thoughts on “I don’t know about green eggs and ham, but I do. not. like. millet.

  1. I laugh at the title of this post because I feel the same way about some foods and it is so liberating to finally accept that I don’t like certain things, even if they are “good” food. And that’s awesome. Lover your noodles. It;’s always quite a production when the pasta maker comes out at our house.

  2. I keep trying millet and I keep not liking it. My mom tasted some I cooked the other day and she did tell me I am not cooking it enough, so I may try one more time. I also forgot to mention the eggs in the mashed potatoes are optional, but I just edited it in.

  3. So funny! Millet is one of my favorite grains, so I guess some food is totally all about preference (I learned I actually do like brussels sprouts this week, turns out I have been making myself try to like them all these years without knowing how to cook them properly)! I will take the millet off you and swap you some quinoa! Hopefully you didn’t buy the 50 lb bucket! You are killing me with those mashed potatoes and the homemade pasta! I need to figure out how to make it without eggs. Too bad I’m doing this for health reasons because your organic eggs in both recipes are looking like a really good option to me right now :/

    • The only reason I put the eggs in the mashed potatoes is for the extra protein, leaving them out doesn’t change the taste. I don’t eat the noodles, I only make them for Andrew, I have it down to a science and make them a couple of times a week.

      • You are brilliant. A mashed potato post on oh she glows uses a white bean puree for part of the mashed potatoes for the same reason.

        Still gotta figure out the pasta. I used to make my own too. Yours is beautiful!

      • That post on ohsheglows gave me the idea to use the beans, so there is your protein, you don’t need the eggs, I just have to get protein in wherever and whenever I can with Andrew.

  4. Oooh. The mashed potato meal looks great. Going to try that. They all look great. And not that you’re keeping a tally, but I like millet a lot. I made baby cereal out of it once when my brother was visiting and he was most distressed that I was feeding his nephew ‘bird seed.’ I bet I could make him something out of millet that he would like now!

    • After I wrote this, my mom tasted some I had cooked and said I am not cooking it right, so I am going to try it again and cook it longer. The potatoes are delicious even though the french onions look like little worms in the pic. Andrew thinks he is eating something “bad” when he eats them because they are so good.

Leave a Reply

