Be Here Now (Vegan Chocolate Frosting)

The last week has been a roller coaster of change.  Fluish days of cleansing, tired days of resting, and vibrant days of clarity.  I wish I could post up amazing recipes for you, saying that I have eaten like a queen in my first 10 days as a vegan.  But I can’t*won’t*don’t need to.

Instead I have found myself going back to basics.  Simple meals.  A bowl of avocado and salsa.  Olives.  Nuts by the handful.  A piece of fruit.  A spinach salad with baby tomatoes and marinated artichoke hearts.I did have grilled portobello mushroom and red pepper skewers on a bed of sauteed cabbage and red onion- that was tasty but still simple as the marinade was just olive oil and garlic salt.

Image

Now I am more aware of the food I eat.  I savor each bite.  I am more present in my mealtimes.  And I cannot express the joy I felt yesterday in eating a Banana Bread Larabar yesterday- pure bliss!

Image

Results thus far: When I started this cleanse, I was 10 lbs from my goal weight and had a well rounded pooch.  I am active, running is an integral part of my life.  I ate relatively healthy- lots of organic produce, organic pasture raised meat once a day, and minimal dairy.  I don’t claim to have been perfect, everyone has an Achilles’ Heel.  My downfall is and has always been treats.  Yummy sweet desserts, baking, ice cream, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate.

I assumed I was doomed to always have my post-baby belly and that the final 10 lbs (I gain 65 each baby, I know, ouch) just wouldn’t budge.  WELL.  In ten days I have lost 7.3 lbs and 2 inches of belly!  Seriously?!

On another note, we did try a new recipe for my son’s birthday cupcakes- this vegan frosting.  It was easy to whip up, spread nicely and the kids loved it.  Word is (I couldn’t taste it) it was rich so the frosting didn’t need to be too thick.

Vegan Chocolate Frosting

Image

Makes about 2 cups
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Total Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups organic powdered sugar
  • ¼ cup (½ stick) dairy-free soy margarine, softened
  • ¼ cup plain unsweetened almond milk or soymilk
  • ¾ cup unsweetened pure cocoa powder
  • ½ t. vanilla

Preparation:

1. In a medium-large mixing bowl, using an electric hand mixer, cream the powdered sugar with the soy margarine until mixture is thick but well combined. Add the almond milk, cocoa powder and vanilla, and continue to mix until smooth.

**WARNING: Enter non-food focused ramblings of a Mormon hippie**

This journey has led me to remember a book I loved in college, Be Here Now by Ram Dass.  In facing these changes, my head has traveled in two directions interchangeably.  One of burden and one of peace.  I can choose to see this as a heavy weight, a monumental challenge, or a new opportunity, new hope.

Image

I have also found my thoughts traveling Heavenward- my prayers leave me with strength, peace and moments of needed inspiration.  The doctor am seeing talks about food and energy being light.  The light we put in both physically and metaphically will affect.

Image

I am not focused on quantity any longer, on filling an emotional void.  I am aware of satisfaction and nutritional needs, a very different mindset from the standard American diet. It’s a good place to be.

19 thoughts on “Be Here Now (Vegan Chocolate Frosting)

  1. totally worth the work. major props. and on a not connected note, my cousin is going tu purge her clothes my direction, so i may get some awesome hippie-ish clothes to join you in your hippie-ness. And they were good standard spiritual ramblings, not just hippie-mormon ones.

  2. Dude, I can’t help but think that when our family went veg that we all felt clearer and lighter, spiritually and physically! You are rockin the veggies my friend. So proud of you! Xoxo!

  3. Great post, and congrats on the loss! I love running, although I’m not very dedicated… I should get better at that. And I love the chocolate frosting- I have a similar recipe, very yum!

    • Thanks! I’m pretty excited to finally fit into my pre-baby clothes. No more pile of “Wishfuls” at the bottom of the closet! As for running, I’m in love. No matter how many injuries or set backs I may have, I just keep coming back. It’s my therapy. Time to think with no interruption, fresh air, elevated heartrate, sense of well being…. can’t beat it. Looks like you are a biker though- that’s something I want to do more of!

  4. Great post. Hang in there! The first three weeks are the hardest as your mind and body adjust, but it is so worth it. The weight loss (congrats!) is just the beginning. 🙂 Huge virtual hugs! xx

Leave a Reply

