Somer Saturday, a Guest Post from Shira at IPOM and another Lululemon Giveaway!

It’s Somer Saturday!  I have one Lululemon Run For All Skirt, new with tags, in a size 6 for this giveaway.

Now if any of you ladies or gentleman wear lulu skirts, you know that the size 6 is equivalent to a U.S. Small. Size chart here if you need to measure! So I’m sorry that this isn’t a gift card or something that can be exchanged for a different size.  I know that even though it retailed for somewhere around $60 bucks,  it has been selling for an even prettier penny on ebay (nudge, nudge, wink, wink). So if you win, surely you or can rock it or give it to a sassy-lulu-lover, or, you can hawk it. I won’t tell.

For more photos of this skirt and outfit combo ideas, click here.

Rules of Engagement:

1- You must be a follower of this blog, if you don’t know how to do that, there is a “Follow blog via email” button at the top column to the right. This contest is open to followers, in the US and Canada.

2- You must like this post (click on the title name of this post, then go to the bottom of the post just above comments and push the like button), then tell me in the comments below why you have to have this skirt!

3- You must head over to Shira’s Blog and read this fantastic post on running and comment there or like that post (I’ll be checking) ;)

Winner to be announced Saturday August 5th, 2012. Yes, you have all week to enter.

Now, for the best bit (really) If you haven’t guessed all ready, I have a special guest blogger today, it’s Shira from IPOM (In Pursuit of More). Can I tell you how much I adore her? I’ll let her words do the talking below, but I have to tell you that her heart is as big as her recipes are delicious, and that’s saying something. Please check out her Not So Fast charity program and you’ll get a glimpse into just one of the reasons Shira inspires me. I could go on, but it would make for a very long post. So please welcome Shira and her fantastic Green Drink!

Fennel Apple Juice with Greens & Fresh Lemon

Holla Good Clean Food Readers! Welcome to a ‘guest post’ edition of ‘Somer Saturday’!

Honestly, I am pretty pumped to share a recipe on the blog that is home to literally one of my favorite bloggers in the blogosphere. Somer is one of those people who you feel like you’ve known forever, and a conversation (via comments) with her is almost like having her sit right there in the room. Somer and I discovered early in our blog friendship that we both share a mutual love of running – and one read of her story will have you almost laced up and out the door before you even finish the last few words.

Not too long ago, there was a fantastic giveaway on Somer’s Saturday post, and after I inquired on just why I didn’t win (hey one can hope..something about these things being random – hehe) – along came a plan for an IPOM guest post and another super awesome giveaway!

Fresh air impoverishes the doctor.

~ Danish Proverb

Today’s recipe is (true to IPOM form) super simple. Of course, you need to own a juicer for it, but other than that, the ingredients are easy and accessible, and won’t break the bank either.

Sweet fennel and apples team up to offer balance against healthy cancer fighting vegetables like cabbage and kale, and are rounded out with the zing and pop of fresh lemon.

I’ve posted one green juice recipe before, but I think I may have just found my new favorite. And it could become yours too!

The Less:

Less chewing and digesting means less work on the system. Less store-bought, packaged juice means less sugar and cooked compounds. Less refined sugar beverages means more low-calorie energy, and less cooking means hopefully more ways to expend it.

The More:

More easily assimilated raw juices means more dynamic raw nutrition. More sweetness and balance means more satisfaction to ward off cravings. More creative ways to juice with more easily found ingredients, means more likelihood you’ll do it over (and over) again.

Fennel Apple Juice with Greens & Fresh Lemon:

  • (2) small fennel bulbs, or (1) medium, with stalks removed
    (if the only fennel available is extra-large start with half and adjust to taste)
  • (2) medium organic apples
  • (1) organic lemon, whole
  • (8) leaves kale
  • (1/4) medium-sized green cabbage

Clean and process all ingredients into juicer friendly pieces. Make sure to leave the skin on the lemon as this adds to the taste of the final product significantly.

Juice all ingredients and strain if desired (my preferred way to enjoy it), and serve immediately for best nutritional value and taste!

Utilizing kale and cabbage as the veggie base of this juice adds such amazing nutritional benefit, and both are easy to find and easy (and cheap) to grow just about anywhere. Cabbage is one of my most favorite vegetables and keeps all through the winter given proper storage.

Adding sweet fennel offsets any bitterness, and makes this green cocktail absolutely sing!

So whether you are a runner, a walker, a cyclist, or just about any other fantastic version of yourself, this juice is almost guaranteed to make you feel like a million bucks.

A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book.

~Irish Proverb

It might make you feel almost as good as you’ll look in Somer’s sexy running skirt 😉

I’ve never seen a smiling face that was not beautiful.

~Author Unknown

The greatest wealth is health.

~Virgil

Thanks for stopping in to read this special edition of ‘Somer Saturday’ (I love writing that) – I am looking forward to the comments and to see who wins this one, and I ‘d love to hear if anyone gets a chance to enjoy this juice. It can heal a tired tummy and soothe a worried mind, and at the very least bring a brightly (green-colored) smile to your face!

Thanks to all for stopping in, and good luck!

Yours in Less,

43 thoughts on “Somer Saturday, a Guest Post from Shira at IPOM and another Lululemon Giveaway!

  1. I love this joint venture from two of MY favorite bloggers! You both inspire me constantly. One of these days you’re even going to inspire me to get a juicer. 🙂

    • I think I can speak for both of us when I say how much we both worship you! Oh, and yes, Emmy, you need a juicer! I don’t break mine out as often as I should, but it is a fine piece of machinery and this green drink is getting pressed through it today!

  2. Not that I can enter, but I have fresh farmers’ market apples, cabbage from the veggie stand and kale in the garden. I just need to score me some fennel.

    • Let me know if you find some, Fennel is tricky to find in this neck of the woods. I might have to make a special trip up to Whole Foods.

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Fennel Apple Juice with Greens & Fresh Lemon – and a Guest Post & Giveaway! | in pursuit of more

  4. Beautiful! Somer you rock (what kind and beautiful words) – thanks for hosting me! Looking forward to seeing who wins this one, and hoping for more inspirational running tales! xox

    • Thanks Shira! I don’t know if I did you justice. I was getting all emotional reading more about your not so fast program. Girl, you are SO good and kind and lovely! Plus your new gravatar photos are fierce! Xoxo

      • You said way more than is deserved, my friend 🙂 Love you to bits too – and thank you so very much for all of your support for NSF! It’s the passion project that could, and I simply enjoy every second of it! Especially the people 😉 Finger pointed straight at you..

      • Thanks!! On my way to feeling better about the midsection with the new eating plan and all! And I do want a running skirt one day….it’s also that the OC is SO lululemon obsessed I can’t help but buck the trend and buy all my workout gear at Marshalls. 😉

      • I hear ya! All the fancy pants giant boob job girls at the gym wear them too. It wasn’t until I tried on a pair of their running shorts that I figured out what all the fuss was about. In love. And flat as a pancake. Woot Woot!

  5. Two of my favorite ladies in one place! You are both so inspiring and it is always a delight to read your posts!

    That skirt is awfully cute! I usually dress a bit more warmly because I go out so early, but this might inspire me to go out a little later and get some Vitamin D! 🙂

    • Ah, you’re one of those runners. You will find me in the middle of winter still wearing a tank top running in the snow. I overheat when I run, bad! When my girlfriends aren’t even glistening, I’m dripping sweat like a pig. You could wear it to yoga too….. 😉

  6. Yum! I’m definitely going to try this recipe. Fennel is one of my favorite things to juice. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Pingback: “Blissful Bites” and “Unprocessed” July Somer Giveaway Winners! « Good Clean Food

  8. This looks sooo green and fresh…and that can only mean one thing, perhaps ‘zee time is nigh for this girl buy a juicer…my stomach is smiling at the thought…mmmm yumm 🙂

  9. This is the best idea ever. I love the thought of that smoothie and will try it soon and as for the little skirt…DIVINE. The only reason I am not writing my heart out for it, is…shhhh…it is not my size. My booty is a 4! Maybe with some tights, a little belt and boots? Hmmm. Perhaps a reassessment is in order!

    • Have you worn lululemon? Their sizes can run small. Look at the size chart above! I’m a 2-4 and the skirt fits me. (I do have to cinch the waist in a bit with the internal drawstring) I bought a similar skirt in the 4 (like a 0-2) and it fits like an XS, which normally I can get away with, but it’s a tiny bit too tight across the hips, which doesn’t work for running! Their size 2 is the equivalent to a double zero or 00.

    • I forgot to mention, this skirt has two built in pockets at the front for gels, a zippered pocket at the back for keys, cash, phone or credit card. The internal drawstring is continuous, which means the ends will never get lost! It has built in shorties under the skirt with a special grippy edge so they don’t ride up while running. ;).

  10. I adore the skirt and not owning even ONE running skirt means this would open new worlds to me and would show all the other fifty-somethings that yah, girls, we gonna do this thing and look real cute at the same time. I envision the skirt being the pathway for numerous conversations that can change the face of women’s health wherever I tread. Oh, yes, how I need this little Lulu…

  11. I need this skirt because I have yet to join the world of running skirts. And because I am tired of wearing the same pair of shorts (though I love them) all the time. It’s tough to find good running bottoms that you can fall in love with!!!

  12. Pingback: Lululemon Giveaway Winner! « Good Clean Food

Leave a Reply

