Off the Beaten Path & Happiness in a Cookie Bite

Maybe I’m crazy… maybe I’m strange… but I have to say that this morning, I was unimpressed with the local morning news show. In fact, I was about ready to throw a shoe at the tv screen. But THAT would have been crazy, and destructive.

On the news roll:

Diet Coke: For 10 minutes I was told about the miracles of diet coke and the genius of new flavorings. Since EVERYBODY drinks it, now I will want to drink it even more because of said flavorings. The speaker even went far enough to compare this diet coke with a refreshing glass of cold water after a long run. Say what?!?

Party Decorations: Cut up a ton of plastic tablecloths to make tassels for balloons, the more tassels the better. Sure, a waste of plastic, but that’s not what irked me. They then went into the helium shortage saying that I need to search all over to find the helium and then use the VERY LARGEST balloons I can find because they are all the rage. So shortage= increased consumption. Awesome.

Diet coke: again! Every report included more comments about the miracle of diet coke. Over and over. Best part, the name of the recipe was the “DIRTY COKE.” Go figure. If only it were for the right reasons.

How to fill small empty spaces in your home: if you have an empty corner, fill it! Must have more stuff!

Eat more hotdogs: Garnishes. Where to buy the best ones. How to cut them creatively. Not a huge deal, people eat meat. But once again, not applicable to me.

I don’t drink diet coke. I would rather use fresh cut flowers than super-size helium balloons. And I am always on the hunt for more things to purge from our home in the name of simplicity. And hot dogs? Bleh.

I know I am not “normal.” But am I really THAT strange? So I’m mormon, vegan, running, nature loving momma. Honestly, I’m ok with that. In fact I feel like I am living true to myself and what I believe. It’s a good thing. No regrets.

Now for a recipe!Β  My fantastically talented step-mom Kim is a kitchen wiz and found a version of this recipe (she has an eye for a good recipe.) I switched to unsweetened coconut, added cinnamon, used almond instead of peanut butter and added sea salt (since we use unsalted nut butters.) I know we have other no-bake cookie options on this site but this is our family’s new favorite. It has been perfect for the kids cold lunches and a great way to get extra protein and omegas into their growing little bodies. The kids happily eat them up in moments, though I may help a little. πŸ™‚

Happiness in a Cookie Bite

1 c. rolled oats
1/2 c. almond butter
1/4 c. liquid sweetener of choice
1 c. unsweetened coconut
1/2 c. ground flaxseed
1/2 c. chocolate chips (best if chopped into smaller pieces)
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
pinch sea salt (to taste)

Mix ingredients in a bowl. Chill one hour. Add a little water or extra almond butter if too dry. Roll with wet hands into 1 inch balls. Refrigerate up to 1 week.

41 thoughts on “Off the Beaten Path & Happiness in a Cookie Bite

  1. You are from from strange, how you feel should be the new normal – I don’t know if I would have made it through the whole broadcast…..I don’t have cable (not even basic) for a reason – did diet coke sponsor the broadcast this morning or did they not have anything noteworthy to share?

    Your magic cookie ball happiness are awesome – love the addition od sea salt!

    • Ha! What would the world do with a bunch of Erika’s running around. Yikes! πŸ˜‰ Pretty sure it wasn’t a sponsored broadcast. And it was one of things where the tv was on, they started talking and I couldn’t turn it off out of shock. The suspense was killing me- what would they say next?!

  2. I could not agree with you more!! It should be a criminal offense to mislead people like that!! This is why we need GOOD Clean Food and people like you!! Thank you Erika πŸ™‚
    Yum your cookie bites look delicious!!

    • Birds of a feather….
      Glad I could spread the happiness. πŸ™‚ I’m sure you will come up with your own variations of the happy cookie bite, I would love to hear about your creative modifications!

    • Ha! My husband would have loved me for that one. And then my kids would probably follow my example and start throwing things out the windows too in the name of “but mom did it!” Just sayin’…

    • Yay for little lunch boxes! I am trying to get a lot more creative this year. Make it fun for the boys. Hoping I keep up the motivation through the year!

  3. That’s crazy, especially the coke stuff, which i assume isnt paid advertising. I’m glad I hardly ever watch tv. And that I have this recipe for next week’s lunchboxes!

    • Yeah, I haven’t been too impressed with the television in the past many years with the exclusion of the Olympics and a few shows of choice. Even then, tv time is rare. Enjoy the cookies!

    • Agreed! And power packed with healthy ingredients isn’t too bad either. πŸ™‚ Quick and easy has been my mantra this week (not sure if I should blame that on being busy or being lazy though.)

  4. I wish your train of thought was the norm. Somedays I feel like talking food with my in-laws is like talking Mormonism with my non-member family. They totally think I’m off my rocker! But I’m with ya’, all the way in RI! The more we spread the knowledge we have, the more people will feel similarly.

    • I SO understand that one (I’m a convert.) Apparently off-my-rocker suits me? πŸ˜‰ It’s funny, neighbors who thought I was that looney health nut last year have started just accepting it as who I am and have been super thoughtful. One week, someone brought candy as treats to an activity and they brought a juicy orange just for me- I almost cried. Happy tears of course!

  5. That’s why I never watch the news….so depressing…in every way!! How ridiculous about the diet coke…that stuff is terrible. On another note, those cookies look scrumptious! I just posted a no-bake cookie bar recipe yesterday! My version of a girl scout “thin mint” cookie. Don’t you just love no-bake recipes! So yummy…and easy!! I can’t wait to try these πŸ™‚

    • No kidding! And anything that can clean off the corrosion from a car battery cannot be friendly to our body. I will totally check your recipe out- I LOVE mint!

  6. Can I just say that I LOVE this post! We don’t watch TV so I don’t really know what’s going on but all that diet coke business just seems crazy!
    Also, I’ve made no bake cookie bites for me but I hadn’t thought about giving them to my kids. I think I’ll have to try this recipe really soon!

    • Aw, so glad you do! It’s all craziness I tell ya. Crazy people eating crazy things. Or wait, am I describing myself? πŸ˜‰ Your kids will love them!

  7. I think it’s safe to say that I’m probably the only one here who still joneses for a toxic sludge diet coke now and again (have not given into temptation) trying to stick to the whole non-caffeinated dealio.

    Lame news.

    Awesome cookies, I’m lamenting that I don’t have any coconut, as they are a crucial ingredient (I know because I loved every single bit of the 50 of these I ate when you brought them to my house).

    • Nah, everyone has a dark side, they just aren’t laying it on the table. There is a reason that every convenience store/gas station/restaurant etc carries soda- because it sells! I honor you and your decaffeinated self. Coconut problem = solved. Thanks again. xoxo

  8. I’m totally with you on news shows these days. We don’t have cable at home, but I’ll watch it at the gym while I’m on cardio, and I just wonder “Is this what interests people these days? Do people really believe this crap?” It completely baffles me.

    In other news, these cookie bites look totally addictive and drool-worthy. They’re so healthy too! I could totally justify them being my pre-workout snack. πŸ™‚

    • We don’t have cable either, only bunny ears broken in half by our 2-yr-old, and I am so grateful. Though I have to admit I do miss HGTV and the FOOD Network. Living just fine without them though! And don’t get me started on the awful tvs at the gym- there is a ridiculous witch show on every single time I go without fail, news, infomercials and a gory murder mystery or two. Too much for my wishing-I-lived-in-a-happy-fairy land” self. And the cookies are good post-workout too!

  9. This looks absolutely amazing! My sister and brother are coming in town this weekend and I was looking for something sweet to have stored away for the occasion. These look perfect! I will let you know how it goes!

  10. Watched the news at instacare and we learned how to make “no-bake eclair cake” – very newsworthy. Using, no less, instant pudding, cool whip, graham crackers and melted chocolate frosting. i was grossed out. What is the world coming to? And growing flowers are even better than cut – thank you. They are cheery in our sick and messy world.

    • Totally news worthy. Everyone needs poo in a pie dish (Somer will delight in explaining further.) Glad you like- thought the oil would add a happy fresh scent in your post-illness sanitizing too. Hope you all are feeling better, give me a call tomorrow with an update. Oh, and I got kicked out of an instacare today. Now you REALLY want to call me. Sweet dreams to you and the fam.

  11. I’m always on the look out for no bake easy snacks, these look fantastic. Oh and if we live in a world where you are the strange one and the diet coke drinking, hot dog eating people are the normal ones, then I am very glad to also be on the strange side.

  12. Pingback: (Eating Vegan) Under the Sheltering Sky « anunrefinedvegan

  13. Pingback: No bake cookie bites « Trisha's Kitchen

  14. Pingback: The Ultimate Ratbag | Vedged Out

  15. No way are you strange…. I would have thought you were weird if you had agreed/been interested in what they were blabbing on about on the “news” such hard hitting, news-worthy stores, huh? Not.

    Awesome recipe…. THAT should have made it on to the news, sure beats diet coke (toxic) hands down πŸ™‚

  16. Pingback: VeganMoFo: Cocoa PB Balls « anunrefinedvegan

Leave a Reply

