Autumn Cranberry Pear Jam

I can’t believe I am posting this publicly.  This jam is our go-to gift reserved for those we love and appreciate.  It has been a hit with every recipient and a coveted gift item by many.  I can it in multiple batches and have it on the shelf with recycled bows and ribbon nearby for any impromptu gift giving moments.

It’s gorgeous in the jar.  And tasty on toast on a cold winter morning.  A family favorite for every holiday and a sure guest at the dinner table when we have company with a loaf of fresh baked bread.  So here you go, from our home to yours, a holiday gift giving sensation:  Autumn Cranberry Pear Jam.

Autumn Cranberry Pear Jam

3 c pears, crushed, peeled and cored
2/3 c dried cranberries, chopped
1/4 c unsweetened apple juice
1/4 c lemon juice
5 1/2 c sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 pouch (3 oz) liquid pectin

Prepare canner, jars and lids (or skip this step if you are planning on freezing the jam.)

In a large pot combine all ingredients EXCEPT PECTIN (I can’t even tell you how many times I have forgotten this.)  Over high heat bring to a boil, stirring constantly until it cannot be stirred down.  Stir in pectin.  Boil hard stirring for 1 minute.  Remove from heat and skim off foam.

Bottle in prepared jars.  Cook in water bath canner for 10 minutes (20 in altitude) plus 5 minutes uncovered.  (Or if freezing, ladle into jars or tupperware and freeze.  That easy, just not shelf stable.)

For more detailed instructions on canning, go here:  http://pickyourown.org/allaboutcanning.htm

21 thoughts on “Autumn Cranberry Pear Jam

  1. What a great idea to meld pear and cranberries. The sweetness of the pear will mellow out the tartness of the cranberry. Cheers for this great preserve recipe 🙂

    • Thanks! I’d love to take full credit but I can’t. I found it somewhere years ago (no clue where) and it’s been a family staple since.

      • A recipe isn’t a recipe till you share it :). Whether it’s yours or not, cheers for sharing it, it looks amazing and will be fantastic for Christmas 🙂

  2. Hi does it taste very sweet or does it more have a fruity flavour. I am glad you posted this, but I we have so many strawberries that I need to make a jam. So you have given me a good idea. thanks 🙂

    • Think apple pie filling, only smaller chunks. And with pears and cranberries. Low-sugar strawberry freezer jam is my all-time fav since I was a kid. Yum!

    • But of course, just don’t start giving it to my peeps…. and pretend to be surprised if one makes it your direction around the holidays!

    • No kidding! Jam is such a toss up. Still working on figuring out jams with only fruit juice, we just haven’t had as much success. On the up side, at least this batch makes a good 7 pints of jam so it goes a long way.

  3. I just found your site and I love it. I definitely want to try this recipe and am just wondering… If I don’t plan on canning and want to just use some and freeze the rest, how long is it good for in my fridge? And when I thaw the frozen jams, do you know how long they are good for? I appreciate any insight you have on this since it is my first attempt at making jam.

    Thanks for the great recipe!

    • You can totally skip the canning. It should last 1 year in the freezer or 3 weeks in the fridge. Jam is super easy- just jump past the “what if I mess it up” hurdle, forge ahead, and have fun. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

