Raw Vegan Sour Cream

cute nephew, right?

My nephew is almost 12 now, (5 in the picture above), but when he was 2 and more than a handful (no, seriously, he was tough), we lived in his basement. Sometimes, to give his parents a break, we’d have him down to visit and he’d help us make dinner. One of our common meals was guacamole and chips – super healthy, I know, in which we used just a “dollop” of sour cream.  My husband had a bit of a love affair with sour cream, so he’d always lick the spoon afterward. One time my cute nephew said, “I wike it, Nutsy!” anticipating a taste too, and so we gave him a little spoonful to try. Cute nephew gleefully took said spoonful into his mouth and immediately thereafter did that kid thing of just letting the food fall out of his mouth and said, “I don’t wike it, Nutsy!”

raw sour cream mimi kirk

We all miss sour cream just a little. I am not saying we’d take a spoonful like we used to, but it’s such a useful and versatile ingredient in baking, cooking, and adding just that little bit of tang to things like baked potatoes and burritos. I haven’t been happy with any of the store-bought ones, nor any of the recipes for tofu ones. So, a couple of weeks ago, I picked up Mimi Kirk’s “Live Raw” at the library (and one day I’ll own it) and flipping through found a recipe for sour cream.

mushroom stroganoff strawberry broken heart cake

So, I made it. And I didn’t soak my cashews because I have a Vita-Mix and that’s its job. And the second batch was better than the first for reasons I couldn’t tell you. And I used it a week and a half later and it was still fantastic – I think the probiotics actually make a big difference in curing it. And I only took a few pictures because I’m lame like that. But I have since used it in mushroom stroganoff (angels singing above), a strawberry coffee cake (I made two in three days and ate both of them), and topped potatoes (so good with chives!), burritos, and tacos happily with it. And Mimi said I could share it – thanks Mimi, you’re beautiful!

Raw Vegan Sour Cream

Ingredients:

1 c. cashews, soaked for 4 hours (optional if you have a power blender)
½ t. probiotics, for curing – I emptied two New Chapter probiotic capsules
1 t. light miso paste
¼ t. salt
3 T. lemon Juice
¾ – 1 c. water

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a high-powered blender and blend until smooth and creamy, adding more water if necessary. Place in a covered container and store in the refrigerator. Mixture thickens as it chills. To thin, add more water. To thicken add 2 T. Irish moss paste. Use anywhere you would sour cream.

 

16 thoughts on “Raw Vegan Sour Cream

    • I don’t know rejuvelac…but if it’s probionical, then it would probably be awesome. I think I’m going to start my own line of probiotics called probionics. Do you think it would fly?

      • I think you have a winner. Especially if they can “rebuild” me and make me “better, faster, stronger.”

        Rejuvelac (how’s THAT for a name?) is made by sprouting grains and then soaking them in water for a few days. You get this fizzy, tangy water and then you do cool stuff with it.

      • That sounds like loads of fun…and in my far distant future! I just revived my water kefir grains, just to see if I could, and now they will go back into cold storage for a while longer. I am out of counter space. When we get to move, I told matt I want enough room for the griddle AND the bowl of waffle batter. I’m asking a lot, I know.

    • I made this and it is THE BEST vegan sour cream EVER! I’ve tried a couple of other versions (all cashew based) but this one leaves the others in the dust. The 2 trunature brand probiotic capsules I used made not quite 1/4 tsp so I added about a tablespoon of soy yogurt. Even though I made it in a Vita-Mix I still soaked the cashews for a few hours. I was blown away by how smooth, creamy and authentically tangy it was.

      So far I have used it to garnish an enchilada casserole and some spring mushroom barley soup. This is just crazy good!

  1. Yup…have to agree with Terri…that strawberry coffee cake looks the bomb! Could you be tempted to share with your dear constant readers? Please?…Pretty Please? 😉

  2. Pingback: Smoky Fiesta Black Bean Tamales | Vegan Recipe

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: Smoky Fiesta Black Bean Tamales | The Vegan's Husband

Leave a Reply

