Thin Crust Sriracha BBQ Tofu and Moxerella Pizza

It’s Somer Saturday and I’m really REALLY obsessed with Annie’s Cashew Cheez. Ever since she emailed me a demo recipe, vegan life has changed as I know it. I thought I was over cheese, and was starting to be a little snobby, even shunning the likes of Daiya, Teese and Sheese since they are all refined and made of ….I don’t know what…. vegan garbage?

 I read through Annie’s ingredient list, no artificial anything, no weird fillers, no hydrogenated oils, no artificial colors or flavors. Then I read her post – oh man, the cheez looked so beautiful.I was pining away after it. I had to make it. I had to eat it.

And now I’m going to share with you the best recipe I have made with it to date.

 Thin Crust Sriracha BBQ Tofu and Moxerella Pizza

1/4 recipe of the Moxeralla Cashew Cheez, grated

1 recipe Whole Wheat Thin Crispy Crust

1 recipe Sriracha BBQ Sauce

1 recipe Sriracha BBQ Tofu

1 recipe Caramelized Onions

2 T. Chopped Cilantro

Recipes Follow….

First do these things the day before: 1- Make the cheez (adaptation below). 2- Drain a block of extra firm tofu, stick it in a ziplock and chuck it in the freezer. Freeze tofu overnight, then defrost on the countertop the next morning.

It’s Business Time

Moxerella Cashew Cheez

adapted from anunrefinedvegan.com

Ingredients: 1 Package Pamona’s Pectin (you can find it at Whole Foods and other Health Food Stores), 2 C. Ground Raw Cashews, 3 C. Water- divided, 3 T. Lemon Juice, 1/4 C. Nutritional Yeast, 2 t. sea salt and 1 clove minced garlic

Method: Lightly oil a loaf pan or small round casserole dish. In a small lidded jar, mix 1/2 C. of the water with the small calcium packet from the pectin package, set aside. Heat the other 2.5 cups water til nearly boiling. Pour water into power blender. Add pectin, and all other ingredients except calcium water. Blend until smooth. QUICKLY add calcium water and pulse til incorporated. Immediately pour into the prepared pan or dish. Let set uncovered for a minimum of an hour. Remove cheez from the mold and place upside down on a plate. Return to fridge uncovered for a minimum of 4 more hours until firm enough to grate.

Next, make Sriracha BBQ Sauce

Sriracha BBQ Sauce

 Combine: 1/2 C. organic ketchup, 2 T. agave nectar, 2 T. Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, 1 T. apple cider vinegar, 1 t. molasses, 1 clove minced garlic, 1 t. liquid smoke, 1/2 to 2 t. Sriracha Hot Sauce (to taste) and a few grinds of pepper.

Next make Sriracha BBQ Tofu

Sriracha BBQ Tofu

Half of this recipe never made it to the pizza. It is so good! Method: Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Drain as much water from defrosted block of tofu as possible with paper towels. Slice into pieces and then drain again with paper towels. Put tofu in a bowl and drizzle with 1/4 C. above sauce. Put some parchment paper on a cookie sheet and arrange tofu on it. Bake for 10 minutes or until it starts to get lovely little crispy bits.

Next make Caramelized Onions

Caramelized Onions

 Ingredients: 1 jumbo sweet onion, thinly sliced (or 2-3 regular sized onions), 2 t. molasses, 1 t. salt and a few grinds of pepper. Method: Heat a skillet over high heat, add a cup of water and all of the above ingredients, occasionally stir and replenish water if skillet gets dry before the onions are completely translucent. Total cooking time can take 15-20 minutes. This recipe makes about 2.5 to 3 C. caramelized onions.

Next make Whole Wheat Thin Crispy Crust while the onions are caramelizing.

Whole Wheat Thin Crispy Crust

Ingredients: 1.5 C. white whole wheat flour, 3/4 C. warm water, 1 t. active dry yeast, 1 T. vital wheat gluten, 1 t. salt. Method: in your favorite kneading apparatus (perhaps a bowl, and then your hands) combine all the above ingredients. Knead until elastic. Let rest 10 minutes. Roll with a rolling pin into the shape of a baking sheet, crust should be VERY thin. Press crust into lightly oiled baking sheet. Set aside.

Assemble: Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Brush remaining sriracha BBQ sauce over the thin crispy crust, layer caramelized onions over the sauce, next arrange pieces of the BBQ tofu over the onions,  sprinkle the moxerella cashew cheez over the whole pizza, sprinkle with the chopped cilantro. Bake on middle rack for 15 minutes or until cheez starts to brown.

Still following me? Phew, I thought I was getting a little long winded.

Oh, you’re still here and you want that salad dressing recipe too?

Miso Cashew Ranch Dressing 

Ingredients: 1/2 C. Raw Cashews, 1 1/4 C. unsweetened almond milk, 1 heaped T. white or yellow miso, 3 t. chia seeds, 1/2 t. sea salt, 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 t. onion powder, 1 t. dried dill, 2 T. fresh parsley 1/2 t. ground black pepper, dash cayenne. Method: Blend all ingredients except dill and parsley until completely smooth. Add dill and parsley and pulse until just mixed in.

73 thoughts on “Thin Crust Sriracha BBQ Tofu and Moxerella Pizza

    • Thanks!!! I didn’t post on Tasty Tuesday because I was too sick to conjure up a post with any real content. So I had to make today’s post doubly good!

  1. I’m obsessed with Annie’s cashew cheese too! Stay tuned for a cheeseburger recipe that will rock your world!

    This pizza looks deceptively sinful! And is there anything that Sriracha can’t do? There’s not a thing I cook that I don’t wonder if I should add the rooster sauce. I love that you did a thin crust too- my favorite kind! I think we need to have a pizza party!

    Thank you again for that lovely ranch recipe- I haven’t made it yet, but it’s on my to-do list for this upcoming week. 🙂

    • I love her guts! Holy crap, dying for your cheezburger recipe. Blogging buddies are the best, I swear it keeps my creative streak going in the kitchen, because it’s not like I can call my carnivore friends for dinner ideas 😉

      The pizza really was wickedly good. If you are ever in Utah, we shall party. Do you snowboard? We always have spare passes in the winter, hint hint, and a very cozy guest room.

      Sriracha is radical. I’m upping my spice-o-meter, because after years of having ulcerative colitis, I couldn’t handle spice without my stomach going into a tail spin. Now that I’m in remission because of my diet, I’m loving dialing up the heat. Woot Woot for the rooster!

      Once you make the ranch, you may end up needing it all the time as a fridge staple. After months on end of putting hummus on all my veggies and sandwiches, I really needed a switcharoo, the ranch was a welcome change!

      • OH MY GOODNESS!!! I made the cheese recipe with pectin (like your recipe says) instead of the agar agar, and it is ridiculous! I was actually out of lemons and used apple cider vinegar instead and I still had incredible results. And it’s so melty! Thank you, thank you!

        I hope you had an awesome weekend and the race went well! Can’t wait to hear about it! 🙂

      • Yay!!! I’m so glad you love it! I even got my carnivorous dad to sample the pepper-jack version this weekend. HE SAID IT TASTED LIKE CHEESE! I’m forever going to be indebted to Annie!!!

        My internet connection went kerplunk the day before the race and I’ve finally got it going! Can’t wait to catch up on your posts my friend! I saw some tasty looking things in my inbox!!!

    • Get your butt over here and we will stuff ourselves with veggies till we are sick, wait, that’s impossible 😉 hehe.

  2. This looks great Somer! It all sounds delicious…I love a good cashew cheese and will have to try this for sure! Is that a new (old) camera taking those delicious shots? Awesome!!

    • Thanks Shira! Yes, Annie is pretty much a genius, I totally hijacked her cashew cheese recipe (with permission and adaptations of course). And yes, it’s the new old camera, pretty rough so far, but I’m determined to figure it out 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Salad Sandwich on Seeded Bread « Good Clean Food

  4. Pingback: » Taters ‘n’ Greens Tofu Scramble Pizza Keepin' It Kind

  5. Pingback: Somer Saturday – Jam Packed Post « Good Clean Food

    • Yay! That pizza was the bomb, but the cashew cheez is killer on EVERYTHING. Grilled cheez sandwiches, quesadillas, lasagna, enchiladas…..

  6. Pingback: Guest Blogger: Good Clean Food – Somer Saturday – Jam Packed Post « Vegan Bloggers Unite!

  7. Sounds wonderful! I’m mostly vegan and always looking for new recipes. Now back to le Tour de France. 🙂 I’ll be poking around here again as I’m always looking for new recipes. I have a few good ones on my site, although they’re not mostly mine, but that’s OK; they still taste fabulous.

    • I think you and i could be friends! Our tv died last week after the first day of the tdf and it’s killing me! Thanks for another great place to find good food. Aren’t all recipes borrowed in one form or another?

      • I don’t create a lot of recipes, but I do use the library copiously and find lots of good cookbooks (and good recipes online!) 🙂 As far as le Tour, last year I was going to be somewhere without a TV for part of the time, so I bought the online access (down by then from $29.99 to $19.99) and enjoyed watching whenever I could. I’m a complete Tour addict and have to struggle to make sure I get my work done while it’s on. 🙂

    • Yay! Poke around! And good recipes are good recipes, no matter who created them, so I’ll be poking around your blog too! I’m always looking for something different!

  8. Pingback: Vegan Pepper-jack Cashew Cheez and Pamona’s Pectin Giveaway! « Good Clean Food

    • Ha ha!

      Yes, except for the fact that in this case it’s all good for you!!! Seriously the best pizza I’ve ever made, gotta make it again…. Like tonight!

      Thanks!

  9. Pingback: Vegan Margherita Pizza and “Blissful Bites” Book Giveaway « Good Clean Food

  10. Pingback: Cashew Cheeze Making – Gazing In

  11. based on my quick calcs – if you can get cashews for 5.99/lb (I did today – yay!) and you use 10 oz of them, one pamona’s for 3.69, and add the incidentals, you’ll make about 2 1/2 lbs of cheeze. My figuring was that it cost $3.37/lb. I think that’s pretty radical. and yes, I now have a batch in my freezer and a bit in my fridge and I’m pretty much stoked. Now I have to go cut Matt’s hair.

  12. This is THE BOMB. Totally making this, although I’ll have to get creative with the crust. AND I’m having a vegan over for pizza on the bbq soon–I think I’ve just found the winning recipe! THANKS!

    • Oh girl, you will die. Must make the cashew cheez for your vegan friend. I wish I could share it with the whole vegan world. I think it knocks the socks of Daiya!

      XOXO!

      • Well, that can’t be that tough. I’ve tried to like it, but I can’t stand how it sticks to my teeth. And you’re right–what exactly *is* it, anyway? Cheers! And I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂 xx

      • I don’t like that once it melts it doesn’t know how to re-solidify. It just stays in a gelatinous phase FOREVER. Gross! And yes, it DOES stick to your teeth!

      • Let me know what you think….. Obviously I worship it, but I’ve been deprived from real cheese for months on end (self induced) and may think it’s the shiz when really it’s mediocre.

      • I’m lactose intolerant, so certain cheeses will kill me if I eat them. I do cheat once in a while, but it’s great to have a stomach-pain-free choice! I’ll be honest, but I’m sure it will be yummy. I mean, Annie’s the best, right?

      • Um, no question. She’s brilliant. Did you know I actually get to hang out with her? She’s here in Utah. LOVE! Talk about meeting your best blogging buddy heaven!

      • Sure, rub it in. I’m in California, so am unlikely to meet her. Although I love her so much from afar I’m tempted to get in the car and drive there!
        Isn’t blogging the best? I’ve met some of the greatest people since I started my blog a year ago! (present company included!)

  13. Pingback: Luscious-Lasagna-Like-Layers | my sister's pantry

  14. Pingback: A Very Vedged Out Lasagna | Vedged Out

  15. Pingback: Sunflower Cheddar - Keepin' It Kind Keepin' It Kind

  16. Pingback: Beets – delicious from tip to tip | my sister's pantry

  17. Pingback: Cheese Free Italian? Really? | my sister's pantry

  18. Pingback: Slow Cooker Burritos | my sister's pantry

  19. Pingback: Leftovers Transformed – Pot Pie Palooza | my sister's pantry

  20. Pingback: Apple and Caramelized Onion Galette | jessicacorra

Leave a comment